WSN JV cruises to doubleheader sweep of TRM

Published 9:55am Tuesday, March 19, 2013

In a doubleheader Monday in Brewton, the W.S. Neal Eagle JV baseball team cruised their way to two wins over the T.R. Miller Tigers.
W.S. Neal took game one 9-0 and game two 17-3 to improve to 8-2-1 this season while T.R. Miller fell to 1-6.
In game one, W.S. Neal held T.R. Miller scoreless while scoring five runs of their own in the first and four in the second.
Miles Powell pitched in the win for the Tigers and allowed two hits and struck out six. Collin Graves, Mike Williams and Rob Jones all had hits for W.S. Neal.
Todd Mayo took the loss on the mound for the Tigers. Mayo allowed three hits and struck out six.
Lane Clarke and Ethan Bollenbacher had two singles each for the Tigers.
In game two, W.S. Neal broke open a 5-3 game after two innings with 12 unanswered runs over the Tigers to claim a 14-run win, 17-3.
Leading 7-3 after four innings, W.S. Neal scored 10 runs in the fifth inning to blow the game open. W.S. Neal led 15-3 in the inning before their first out was recorded.
Jared Cooper earned the win on the mound for the Eagles going 1 1/3 innings and allowing one hit, three runs, walked five and struck out one. Rob Jones went the final 3 2/3 innings and allowed two hits, no runs, walked two and struck out three.
For T.R. Miller, James Peach took the loss going four innings and allowing 17 runs, five walks, four strikeouts and hit two batters.
Tim McDonald went the final inning for T.R. Miller and allowed two hits and struck out one. The Tigers made 11 errors in the loss.
For the Eagles at the plate, Malcolm Hawthorne had a double and Derrick Barton had two doubles. Dakota Graves had two singles and Alex O’Keane had a single. Miles Powell, Mike Williams, Colton Morris and Dalton Shell all had singles and Nick Laster had two singles.
At the plate for T.R. Miller, McDonald and Christian Mancil had a single each while River Johnson had a double.

Editor's Picks

Please go vote

In less than one week, voters will go to the polls to begin to determine who will be the next leaders of our state and ... Read more