Anticipating the season

Published 2:00am Wednesday, August 7, 2013

In a few weeks we will be gearing up for T.R. Miller and W.S. Neal’s first high schools games of the year.
The next day, Saturday, Aug. 31, we will all be glued to our recliners or couches as the first Saturday of college football begins in the area. I can’t wait; can you?
With the dawn of every new day, sports teams in our area inch their way to the start of the 2013-14 athletic practices and game season.
While the season is almost upon us, here are the dates for the fall sports from the Alabama High School Athletic Association:
Volleyball:
The first practice for the 2013 volleyball season began Aug. 5, with the first contest of the year beginning on Thursday, Aug. 29. The regular season will end on Thursday, Oct. 31. The end of the season for junior high or middle school teams is Saturday, Oct. 12.
Football:
The first practice for varsity football began Monday, Aug. 5 with the first contest being on Thursday, Aug. 29.
The Champions Challenge event will be held Friday and Saturday, Aug. 23-24. Both T.R. Miller and W.S. Neal will play preseason football games at home on Friday, Aug. 23. (WSN recently changed their game to Thursday, Aug. 22)
The end of the football season will be Friday, Dec. 6. Junior high and Middle school football can begin on the same date as varsity but will end on Saturday, Nov. 2.
Cross Country:
Cross country teams also began practice on August 5 with their first contest also set for Aug. 29 and ending on Saturday, Nov. 9 for varsity and Saturday, Oct. 26 for middle school/junior high teams.
I want to wish all our local teams the best of luck in their upcoming seasons.
As always, I will do my best to try and make as many games as I can. If I can’t make it to them in person, I will do my best to get stats and information to get you in the paper so that all sports are covered. Like I always say, please remember there is only one of me and I can only be at one place at one time. I appreciate your patience and understanding.
Until we meet again here or out in the world of sports, God bless.

Editor's Picks

Please go vote

In less than one week, voters will go to the polls to begin to determine who will be the next leaders of our state and ... Read more

transition