Bruce Bits

Published 10:08 am Friday, December 17, 2004

By By Bruce Hixon Standard Sports Editor
Not only did the T.R. Miller Lady Tigers walk away from the Escambia County Tournament with the first place trophy, junior center Joy McCorvey walked away with the tournament's Most Valuable Player Award.
The 6-0 McCorvey led the tournament in scoring with 62 points over the three games. McCorvey had 17 points the first night against Flomaton and 17 more in the championship game against Escambia County with a 28-point outing against W.S. Neal squeezed in between.
"That's a real nice honor for Joy. She is certainly deserving. I'd say the 28-point game against W.S. Neal (where McCorvey scored 22 in the first half) probably put her over the top," T.R. Miller coach Ron Jackson said. "Then she had a double-double in the championship game against Escambia County with 17 points and a dozen rebounds. When Joy gets the ball down low, she is tough to stop."
McCorvey was joined on the all-tournament team by teammates Jasmine Sanford (who was second to McCorvey in scoring at the tournament with 49 points), Krystle Smith and Keonshaye Lane.
The rest of the girls all-tournament team consisted of Flomaton's Jodi Lisenby, Tiffany Cayson and Cassie Lassiter, Esambia County's Jasmine Sanders and Ashanti Jones, and W.S. Neal's Jessica Smith and Candi Williams.
On the boys side, Flomaton's C.J. Williams nosed out tournament most valuable player Jeremy McCants of Escambia County for tournament high scoring honors. Williams collected 76 points, which included a tournament single game high 31 against W.S. Neal. Meanwhile McCants scored 71 points.
McCants was joined on the all-tournament team by Escambia County teammates Chris Andrews, Quartez James and Lorenzo Arnold, Flomaton's Williams and Jake Bonds, T.R. Miller's Damien Jackson, Wade Jackson and Chris Byrd, and W.S. Neal's Cecil Thomas and Terrell Sanders.
* * * * * * * * *
T.R. Miller Stadium steats have arrived.
For those who purchased seats or would like to purchase seats, contact Roger Chapman or Terece Shehan.
Seats cost $30.