Bruce Bits

Published 2:02 am Monday, November 28, 2005

By Staff
The pairings have been set for the upcoming Bank of Brewton T.R. Miller Christmas Classic Boys Basketball Tournament.
Play will get underway December 27 with eight first-round games. Eight more games will follow on December 28 and December 29. The third place and championship games will be played December 30.
This year's tournament has been expanded in both teams from eight to 16 and in days from three to four.
The 16 teams have been divided into an eight-team small school bracket and an eight-team big school bracket. The winners of the two brackets will play for the championship. The bracket runner-ups will play for third place.
Members of the big school bracket include J.F. Shields, Robertsdale, Niceville (Fla.), Monroe County, Greenville, Booker T. Washington, Hillcrest-Evergreen and Smith's Station.
The small school bracket consists of T.R. Miller, Georgiana, Jay (Fla.), Excel, Flomaton, Culleoka (Tenn.), St. Paul's and Northview (Fla.).
The host Tigers will open up their portion of the tournament December 27 at 8 p.m. against Georgiana. If T.R. Miller wins its first-round game, it will play the Jay (Fla.)-Excel winner December 28 at 8 p.m. If the Tigers lose their opener, they will play the Jay-Excel loser December 28 at 12:50 p.m.
December 27 games
Game one: T.R. Miller vs. Georgiana 8 p.m.
Game two: Jay (Fla.) vs. Excel 12:50 p.m.
Game three: Flomaton vs. Culleoka (Tenn.) 3:45 p.m.
Game four: St. Paul's vs. Northview (Fla.) 10 a.m.
Game five: J.F. Shields vs. Robertsdale 5:10 p.m.
Game six: Niceville (Fla.) vs. Monroe County 11:25 a.m.
Game seven: Greenville vs. Booker T. Washington 2:15 p.m.
Game eight: Hillcrest-Evergreen vs. Smith's Station 6:35 p.m.
December 28 games
Game nine: T.R. Miller-Georgiana loser vs. Jay-Excel loser 12:50 p.m.
Game 10: Flomaton-Culleoka loser vs. St. Paul's-Northview loser 10 a.m.
Game 11: J.F. Shields-Robertsdale loser vs. Niceville-Monroe County loser 11:25 a.m.
Game 12: Greenville-Booker T. Washington loser vs. Hillcrest-Smith's Station loser 2:15 p.m.
Game 13: T.R. Miller-Georgiana winner vs. Jay-Excel winner 8 p.m.
Game 14: Flomaton-Culleoka winner vs. St. Paul's-Northview winner 5:10 p.m.
Game 15: J.F. Shields-Roberstdale winner vs. Niceville-Monroe County winner 3:45 p.m.
Game 16: Greenville-Booker T. Washington winner vs. Hillcrest-Smith's Station winner 6:35 p.m.
December 29 games
Game 17: Loser Game 9 vs. Loser Game 10 (small school consolation bracket third place) 10 a.m.
Game 18: Loser Game 11 vs. Loser Game 12 (large school consolation third place) 11:25 a.m.
Game 19: Winner game 9 vs. Winner Game 10 (small school consolation championship) 12:50 p.m.
Game 20: Winner Game 11 vs. Winner Game 12 (large school consolation championship) 2:15 p.m.
Game 21: Loser Game 13 vs. Loser Game 14 (small school third place) 3:45 p.m.
Game 22: Loser Game 15 vs. Loser Game 16 (large school third place) 5:10 p.m.
Game 23: Winner game 15 vs. Winner Game 16 (large school championship) 6:35 p.m.
Game 24: Winner Game 13 vs. Winner Game 14 (small school championship) 8 p.m.
December 30 games
Game 25: small school runner-up vs. large school runner-up (third place) 6:30 p.m.
Game 26: small school champ vs. large school champ (championship) 8 p.m.