Bruce Bits

Published 10:50 pm Monday, May 22, 2006

By By BRUCE HIXON – Sports Editor
JDCC lands four on 2006 ACCC South Softball Team
Two members of the Jefferson Davis Community College softball team have picked up some more postseason honors, while two other Lady Warhawks have picked up their first postseason recognition.
Sophomore pitcher Nikki Madden, sophomore infielder Lakyn Newton and sophomore outfielder Makeyia Burt have been selected to the Alabama Community College Conference South Division First Team. Madden and Newton had previously received All-Region 22 honors.
Madden, a Crestview (Fla.) native, was 17-18 with a 1.94 earned run average. Madden worked 252 and two-thirds innings where she allowed 273 hits to go along with 151 strikeouts.
Madden, who hit just .182 in 22 at-bats in 2005, moved into the offensive lineup on a regular basis this season and improved her average to .336 with a pair of doubles, four triples and 19 RBIs.
Newton, a Greenville native, won JDCC's hitting Triple Crown and led the Lady Warhawks in nine total offensive categories. Newton batted .434 with four homers and 50 RBIs. She also posted team highs for slugging percentage at .667, total bases at 106, hits with 69, doubles with 25, homeruns with four, sacrifice flies with six and stolen bases with seven.
Burt, a native of Atmore, hit .326 with five doubles, five triples and 17 RBIs. She shared the team lead for stolen bases with seven.
The rest of the First Team includes Ashley Huntley, Janira Santiago and Courtney Davis of Wallace State-Dothan, Whitney Valentine of Bishop State, Jayme Kountz and Amy Bohannon of Faulkner State, Jessica McKee of Enterprise-Ozark, Kim Klugh, Samantha Calhoun and Tia Williams of L.B. Wallace, and Lacy Carlile of Alabama Southern. L.B. Wallace's Shequita Holt was named the ACCC South Player of the Year.
The other Lady Warhawk
honored was freshman catcher Kayla Galloway, who received Second Team honors. Galloway, a native of Vernon (Fla.), batted .291 with nine doubles and 20 RBIs.
The rest of the Second Team includes Lacey Mardi, Amanda Gatlin, Jessica Banard, Mesha Ellis, Kayla Rich and Anna Tew of Wallace State-Dothan, Tiffany Wells, April O'Neal and Kandis Tate of Bishop State, and Ashley Souders of Enterprise-Ozark.

Email newsletter signup