Qualifying continues, new names on ballot

Published 2:00 am Saturday, July 7, 2012

The list of those interested in holding public office in Brewton and East Brewton continues to grow as the qualifying period moves forward.
Qualifying for municipal elections began Tuesday and will continue until 5 p.m. July 17, officials in Brewton and East Brewton say.
As of press time Friday, two names were on the ballot for the office of mayor in East Brewton.
Incumbent Terry Clark has completed the qualification process with Louis Hinote throwing his hat in the ring for the position of mayor as well.
For city council seats in East Brewton, four incumbents have qualified to seek reelection to the seats they now hold.
Ned Siebert in place 1; Kenny Hultz in place 2; Ludon Simmons in place 3 and Byron Palmer in place 5 have all qualified to have their names on the August ballot.
In Brewton, two incumbents have let their intentions to seek another term in their positions be known.
Frank Cotten, who serves district 2 will seek re-election to the seat as will District 1 Councilman Dennis Dunaway.
In Brewton, Bill Littles and Jesse Redmon have both completed the qualification process that will put their names on the ballot for the district 3 council position.
In early qualifying, Joe Watson qualified to seek a second term in the seat he holds representing District 4. Pat Poole filed qualifying papers to seek election to the District 1 seat on the council, which is currently held by  Dunaway.
Council seats for Brewton are currently held by Dunaway in District 1; Cotten in District 2; Cary Barton in District 3; Watson in District 4; and Fred Barton in District 5.
Council seats in East Brewton, which are elected on an at-large basis, are currently held by Siebert, Hultz, Simmons, Palmer and Bob Arrant.
Those wishing to seek a position in municipal government must complete the qualification process at the city clerk’s office in the town of choice.
Brewton’s city clerk can be reached at 809-1770. East Brewton’s city clerk can be reach at 867-6092. Each candidate must meet certain criteria to qualify.
Municipal elections will be held Aug. 28 with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., city officials said.