Evergreen to host 12U Cal Ripken baseball tourney starting Thursday

Published 2:00am Thursday, June 20, 2013

The 12U district all-star tournament will play in Evergreen beginning on Thursday, June 20.
Teams set to play in the 12U tournament are: Opp, Flomaton, Evergreen, Andalusia, East Brewton, Covington County and Brewton.
Andalusia and East Brewton will kick things off at 6 p.m. Thursday while Flomaton and Evergreen will meet in the opening round game at 8 p.m.
On Friday, Covington County and Brewton will play their opening round game at 6 p.m. At 8 p.m., the Flomaton/Evergreen winner will play Opp at 8 p.m.
Opp has an opening round bye.
Tournament games will resume on Saturday, June 22 when the Andalusia/East Brewton winner will play the CC/Brewton winner at 10 a.m.
The Andalusia/EB loser will play the CC/Brewton loser at noon Saturday.
At 2 p.m. Saturday, losers brackets game will play while the winners bracket teams will meet at 6 p.m.
Loser’s bracket games continue Sunday, June 23 at 4 and 6 p.m. with the championship game set for Monday, June 24 at 6 p.m.
Twelve athletes will represent East Brewton’s Cal Ripken baseball team in the 12U all-star tournament to be played in Evergreen on June 20.
Making the 12U all-star for East Brewton in 2013 is: Jennings Hobbs, Jacoby Hawthorne, Josh Barksdale, Sawyer Lewis, Morgan Riley, Tucker Davenport, Tyler Pierce, Dylan Ingram, Brandon Jenkins, Marcus Dillard, Matthew Thomas, and Paxton Scurlock.
Also, 12 young baseball players recently made the 2013 Brewton 12U all-star baseball team.
Making the 12U team for Brewton is: Logan Bush, Micah Flores, Hunter Johnson, Trentez Johnson, Stone Martin, Daniel Reed, Drew Reed, Landon Sims, Matt Smith, AJ Walker, Todd Watson and Donovan Weaver.
Coaches for the team will be Roberto Flores, Randy Holland and Ron Headley.

Editor's Picks

Please go vote

In less than one week, voters will go to the polls to begin to determine who will be the next leaders of our state and ... Read more