WSN basketball adds two games, sees change of venue for home games

Published 9:13am Friday, October 25, 2013

The 2013-14 W.S. Neal basketball seasons will begin Tuesday, Nov. 19 at home against the Red Level Tigers—and both the girls and boys teams will debut new head coaches.
Anthony Hayes, former head coach of the Escambia County Blue Devils is the new head coach for the varsity boys, while Buddy Powell has taken over the Lady Eagles. Dewan Salter is back as head coach for the W.S. Neal B-team Eagles.
All of WSN’s home basketball games will be played at W.S. Neal Middle School this year due to construction work at the high school.
The schedule for the B-team and varsity boys and girls teams shows 16 games with eight home games and eight away games. The Lady Eagles and varsity Eagles will also see action in two tournaments this year.
The W.S. Neal basketball girls and boys will be the Escambia County Tournament in December and the Red Level Christmas Tournament. The Escambia County Tournament will be played Friday, Saturday and Monday, Dec. 20, 21, and 23 at Flomaton while the Red Level Christmas Tournament will be played Thursday, Dec. 26 through Saturday, Dec. 28.
W.S. Neal’s area opponents for the 2013-2014 season will be Cottage Hill, Bayside Academy and T.R. Miller.
All games are scheduled for a 4:30 p.m. tip minus the Eagles’ two games against St. Luke’s Episcopal. The B-team will start things off every night followed by the girls and the varsity. Girls games are set for 6 p.m. while the varsity boys are scheduled to play at 7:30 p.m. every night.
Here is the complete schedule for both the Eagles girls and boys:
• Tuesday, Nov. 19, Red Level, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• Friday, Nov. 22, St. Luke’s Episcopal, Home, 5 p.m.
• Monday, Nov. 25, Pensacola Christian Academy, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, Nov. 26, Navarre, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, Dec. 10, Navarre, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• Thursday, Dec. 12, Pleasant Home, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• Friday, Dec. 13, T.R. Miller, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Thursday-Monday, Dec. 20, 21, 23, Escambia County Tournament, Flomaton, TBA
• Thursday-Saturday, Dec. 26-28, Red Level Christmas Tournament, Red Level, TBA
• Friday, Jan. 3, Flomaton, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, Jan. 7, T.R. Miller, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• Friday, Jan. 10, Cottage Hill, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, Jan. 14, Bayside Academy, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• Friday, Jan. 17, Red Level, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, Jan. 21, Pensacola Christian Academy, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Thursday, Jan. 23, Bayside Academy, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Friday, Jan. 24, Cottage Hill, Home, 5 p.m.
• Thursday, Jan. 30, St. Luke’s Episcopal, Away, 5 p.m.
• Friday, Jan. 31, Pleasant Home, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Monday, Feb. 3, Flomaton, Home, 4:30 p.m.

Leave a comment

You must be a registered user and signed in to comment on this article.

Editor's Picks

drugs