T.R. Miller holds spring awards banquet

Published 7:50 am Wednesday, May 19, 2010

T.R. Miller High School celebrated their spring sports with a banquet Monday night at First Baptist Church in Brewton.

Boys and girls basketball, volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls tennis, baseball, softball and boys and girls track were honored as athletes were presented letters and certificate of participation and special awards were given.

Also at the banquet, the T.R. Miller boys and girls track teams were honored for their state championships and the girls cross country team was honored for their runner-up championship.

Email newsletter signup

Along with the athletes, Alabama State Rep. Alan Baker honored T.R. Miller head football coach and athletic Jamie Riggs with a House Joint Resolution No. 92 for being inducted into the AHSAA Hall of Fame this past year.

The resolution passed through both houses and was signed by Governor Bob Riley.

Receiving awards in boys basketball, Wes Dickey was named most valuable defensive player while Terez Lane was named team captain.

In girls basketball, Leah Brundidge was named team captain and Courtney Jones was most improved. Shay Kiser was tabbed as the best defensive player while Keydra Shedrone was the leading rebounder and Nakiya Smith was named MVP.

In volleyball, Natalie Neal was named defensive MVP and Janel McCorvey was named offensive MVP and team captain.

In boys and girls cross country, Matt Ray and Amber Terry were most improved and Brandon Nelson and Karisa Nelson were named most valuable runners.

In tennis, Bryce Wilcox and Jamie Li were named most valuable players.

In baseball, Wes Dickey was most valuable defensive player while Kevin Davis was most valuable pitcher. Caleb McAnally was most valuable hitter and Stephen Warren was named the Brock Joyner award winner.

In softball, Taylor Guthrie was most valuable defensive player and Natalie Neal was offensive MVP. Sarah Lee was named team captain.

In boys and girls track, Leah Brundidge and Ryland Dixon were named the most valuable throwers while Amber Nelson and Madden McCall were the most valuable jumpers.

The most valuable runners were Karisa and Brandon Nelson and Karisa Nelson and Keydra Shedrone were tied for most valuable player for the girls while Terez Lane was named for the boys team.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam