Opp set to host 11-12 tournament today

Published 4:00 am Saturday, July 3, 2010

The District 5 Little League 11-and 12-year-old All Star tournament will begin today in Opp.

The tournament will see four teams in it with Evergreen, Opp, Brewton, and Escambia County (East Brewton and Flomaton).

Evergreen and Escambia County will start the tournament Saturday at 6 p.m. and Brewton and Opp will play the nightcap game at 8 p.m.

Email newsletter signup

The tournament will resume on Sunday with the losers of the first round games playing at 6 p.m. and the winners playing against each other at 8 p.m.

On Monday, July 5, an elimination losers bracket game will be the only game played and will begin at 7 p.m.

The winner of that losers bracket game will play the winner of the winners bracket game at 7 p.m. Tuesday in a possible tournament championship game.

A deciding game will be played Wednesday at 7 p.m. for the overall championship if the loser of Tuesday’s game has suffered their first loss.

The tournament is a double elimination format tournament.

Brewton’s 11-12 all stars include: Brooks Brown, Jared Cooper, Trippe Floyd, Tyler Hoomes, Jonathon Lucas, Timothy McDonald, Jake Najor, Ethan Tyree, Kellyn Winn, and Grant Youngblood.

Robbie Floyd will serve as manager and Lew Najor will be the coach.

The 2010 Escambia County 11- and 12-year-old All Stars include: Dalton Shell, Lane Chavers, Matt Ledford, Malcolm Hawthorne, Josh Fields, Kainoa and Kevin Gumapac, Colton Morris, Dakota Graves, TyShawn Davis, Connor White, and Hayden Hammond.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam