Candidates to speak at forum

Published 4:00 am Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Voters have a chance to hear from candidates for local and state offices Thursday at a political forum sponsored by the Greater Brewton Area Chamber of Commerce and the Brewton Young Professionals.

The forum will be held from 9 a.m. to noon at the ATN building located on the campus of Jefferson Davis Community College.

The event will begin with a meet and greet session at 9 a.m. A forum-style discussion will follow introductions of candidates.

Candidates will be able to introduce themselves, and then a moderator will ask candidates questions from those attending.

Candidates who plan to attend include:

• Senate District 22: State Sen. Marc Keahey, D-Grove Hill, and Danny Joyner, Republican from Brewton

• House District 66: Alan Baker, R-Brewton

• House District 92: Independent Don Cotton, Democrat David Darby, and Republican Mike Jones Jr.

• County Commission District 1: Democrat David Stokes

• Sheriff: Democrat Grover Smith and Republican Heath Jackson

• County school board District 4: Republican Cindy Jackson and Democrat Stephanie Agerton.

• County commission District 3, Democrat Larry White.