Scoring through week seven and TRM’s Riggs’ record

Published 10:17 am Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Good Wednesday morning Brewton area sports fans. I hope the week so far has been a great one for you and that today and the rest of the week will be the same.

This coming Friday night will be week eight of the 2010 season.

W.S. Neal will be playing No. 2 Thomasville in their final home game of the season while No. 10 T.R. Miller will travel to Montgomery to take on No. 9 Trinity in the Tigers final road game of the regular season.

Email newsletter signup

Like we have done in the past, here is a recap of the 2010 scoring leaders through week seven.

Leading the state in scoring is class 4A North Jackson with 347 points. Of the top 52 teams, T.R. Miller ranks 47th with 256 points scored this season.

In the top 52, there are 12 1A teams followed by 11 2A teams, 10 4A teams, eight 3A teams, six 5A teams, and five 6A teams.

In class 3A, T.R. Miller ranks eighth in scoring. Bayside Academy is the lone other region 1 team with 237 points.

In class 4A, Jackson is the first region 1 team and ranks fourth overall and is joined by Thomasville, UMS-Wright, and Hillcrest-Evergreen as the other top scorers in the class.

On the defensive side of the ball, Tanner leads in the fewest points allowed allowing eight points in six games this year. Bibb County is next having allowed 12 points in seven games.

Of the top 48 defensive teams, 1A leads with 11 followed by nine 6A schools, eight 3A schools, seven 4A and 2A schools and six 5A schools.

On a more local view, of the 28 quarters T.R. Miller and W.S. Neal have played so far this season, T.R. Miller has been shutout in six of those while W.S. Neal has been shutout in 19. The Tigers have shutout opponents in 14 of those quarters while W.S. Neal has shutout opponents in three of the 28 quarters.

T.R. Miller’s most shutouts against them have come in the third quarter as they have been shutout four times so far in seven third quarters while shutting out opponents five times overall with that also being in the third quarter.

W.S. Neal’s most shutouts against themselves have come in the first, second, and fourth quarters where they have been shutout a total of five times out of seven quarters in those periods.

W.S. Neal has shutout opponents once in the first, third and fourth.

The most points scored by T.R. Miller in a quarter has been 67 coming in the second quarter and the least in the third with 47 points while the most points given up so far has been in the fourth quarter with 41 points allowed and the least in the third quarter with 14 points.

W.S. Neal has scored their most points in the third quarter with 34 points while allowing 114 total points in the first.

The Eagles have scored the fewest points in the fourth quarter with 13 total points and have allowed the least amount of points in the fourth quarter with 56 points.

Overall, T.R. Miller is 3-0 at home this season and 2-2 on the road while W.S. Neal is 0-4 at home and 0-3 on the road.

T.R. Miller has scored 146 points at home and allowed 42 while giving up 94 points on the road while coming 110.

W.S. Neal has allowed 188 points at home while scoring 62 points and has only scored 20 on the road while allowing 125 points.

In other news, I ran across some interesting news about T.R. Miller coach Jamie Riggs.

Coach Riggs is in his 25th overall season as head coach with 22 seasons coming at T.R. Miller three at Opp.

Coach Riggs is 251-68 overall with a 239-49 record at T.R. Miller.

Riggs’ 22 years at T.R. Miller is the seventh most of current coaches with the longest tenure at one school. Lamar Harris and Buddy Anderson led current coach with 33 years and Hubbertville and Vestavia Hills respectively.

But what is most intriguing to me is that while Riggs has been at T.R. Miller 11 fewer years, he has just 36 fewer wins than Anderson who has 275 and more than Harris with 169.

Riggs has only 49 losses while Harris has 169 and Anderson has 112.

Also, Riggs has the fourth most wins at one school all-time trailing Anderson with 33 years and 275 wins, Glenn Daniel at Luverne with 38 years and 251 wins and Harlan Robinson’s 243 wins in 38 years.

The longest tenure for a coach at one school all-time is Woody Clements at Holt with 41 years and a record of 234-170-8.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam