Polls open Tuesday

Published 11:23 pm Friday, October 29, 2010

Last minute speeches and knocks on doors can be seen and heard across the state in anticipation of the Nov. 2 General Election.

Polls in Escambia County will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at more than 25 locations allowing voters to cast a ballot for the candidate of their choice.

Since the General Election decides seven county-wide races as well as several state races, Probate Judge Emilie Mims, who is the chief election clerk for the county, said the turnout at the polls Tuesday is expected to be high.

“I think this election will see a good turnout at the polls,” Mims said. “It probably will not be as great as the 2008 General Election, but since there are so many races of interest this time, I believe we will see a lot of voters make it to the polls.”

With 29 precincts open for the 12-hour voting period, Mims said poll workers are being faced with a new strategy during this election.

“We have 16 ballot styles in this county for this election,” Mims said. “Because of so many races involving specific areas of the county and state, we have ballots for every combination possible. There are school board, county commission and state representative races that will be voted on in specific districts and areas. Our poll workers will be implementing some new steps in the voting process to assure that each voter receives the proper ballot.”

County races to be decided in the Nov. 2 election include the office of sheriff. Incumbent Grover W. Smith is facing challenger Heath Jackson.

For the seat of county commissioner representing District 3, incumbent Larry White is seeking reelection while C.E. “Buster” Crapps is hoping to unseat the commissioner. The District 5 position for county commissioner is also up for grabs by David Allen Quarker Sr., and Don “Viking” Ellestad vying for the seat.

Cindy Jackson and Stephanie Agerton will face each other at the polls with each candidate hoping to win the seat as the representative for District 4 of the Escambia County School Board.

Other races of local interest have Danny B. Joyner of Brewton facing incumbent Marc Keahey of Grove Hill as they vie for the seat to represent District 22 in the State Senate.

In the race for representative for House District 92, Don Cotton, David Darby and Mike Jones will be hoping to win the seat.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Election coverage will be provided with live, on-line results at www.brewtonstandard.com following poll closer Nov. 2.