TRM beats WSN in EC tournament Saturday

Published 9:18 am Tuesday, December 21, 2010

For the second straight Saturday in a row, the T.R. Miller Tiger basketball teams defeated the W.S. Neal basketball in the second day of the Escambia County Tournament in Brewton.
The Lady Tigers of T.R. Miller defeated W.S. Neal 56-23 while the varsity Tigers took down the Eagles 45-29.
The win for the Lady Tigers improved them to 6-3 overall and 1-1 in the tournament while the Lady Eagles dropped their ninth game in a row to fall to 1-9 and 0-2 in the tournament play.
The varsity Tigers of Brewton improved to 3-3 overall and to 1-1 in tournament play while W.S. Neal fell to 3-10 overall and 0-2 in the tournament.

TRM Lady Tigers 56, WSN Lady Eagles 23
After suffering their first loss in the county tournament since 2006 Friday to Flomaton, the Lady Tigers came out against rival W.S. Neal Saturday and claimed a 33-point win, 56-23.
The Lady Tigers outscored W.S. Neal 20-12 in the first quarter and 13-6 in the second to claim a 33-18 lead at the half. In the third quarter, the Lady Tigers held W.S. Neal to one point while scoring 13 to carry a 46-19 lead into the fourth. In the fourth, T.R. Miller ended the game on a 10-4 run to get the win.
Leah Brundidge led T.R. Miller with 21 points and Courtney Jones added 16. Adrian Gibbs had seven and Brittany Rush had five. Taylor Guthrie had two points along with Diamond Middleton and Sha Kiser and O’Nesha Hall had one point.
For W.S. Neal, Keyvonnia Kyles led with 11 points and Jasmine Crook had seven. Megan Andrews had four points and Arianna Jones had one.

TRM boys 45, WSN boys 29
With T.R. Miller leading W.S. Neal 25-21 heading into the fourth quarter, the Tigers outscored the Eagles 20-8 in the fourth quarter to get the 16-point win.
The Tigers led 7-6 after the first quarter and after both teams scored eight in the second quarter, led 15-14 at the half.
The Tigers followed with a 10-7 advantage in the third quarter to grab a 25-21 lead heading into the fourth.
Darrion Salter led T.R. Miller with 15 points and Jaquan Dewberry had 11 points. Caleb Dickey had six points and Caleb Hubbard added four points along with Antonio Payne.
Mark Bryant chipped in three points and Kameron Winn had two points.
Donovan Millican and Jalen Harrod led W.S. Neal with six points followed by Josiah Nettles, Dalton Evans, Kenny Kiser, Montrel Banks, and Hudson Brown with three points each. Austin Dixon had two points.