Harrell named to state health council

Published 8:14 pm Thursday, February 10, 2011

Ruth Harrell of Flomaton is among Gov. Robert Bentley’s appointments to the State Health Coordinating Council.
Bentley announced appointments Thursday to the Certificate of Need Board and the State Health Coordinating Council, both part of the State Health Planning and Development Agency.
Bentley also rescinded a previous Executive Order calling for a moratorium on any action by the CON and SHCC Boards.
 “I have full confidence in the newly appointed members of both the CON and SHCC Boards,” he said. “Those I appointed, or re-appointed, have a wealth of experience in their respective fields and will make the right decisions as they serve in their capacity as board members.”
Members of the Certificate of Need Review Board are: Dr. Swaid N. Swaid, Dr. Herb Stone, Dr. Bob Sheppard, Neal Morrison, Guice Slawson Jr., General Ed Crowell, Hodges Washington, Dr. Michael Gosney and Dr. Chris Harmon.
In addition to Harrell, members of the State Health Coordinating Council are: Dr. Ruth Yates, Dr. James Walburn, Dr. Vera Soong, Dr. Gillis Payne, Dr. McCain Ashurst, Dr. Theodis Buggs, Dr. Tommy Bender, Dr. Jeff Underwood III, Robbie Owen, Brenda Culver, William Smith, Rebecca Thrasher, Judy Merritt, John Killian, Brandon Farmer, Mary Holcomb, Rep. Jim McClendon, Sen. Greg Reed, Ross Gunnells, Mary Sue McClurkin, F.Wayne Pate and Representative April Weaver.

Email newsletter signup