TRM’s Brundidge name to North-South Basketball All-Stars

Published 7:57 am Thursday, March 24, 2011

MONTGOMERY — Sixty outstanding junior basketball players from across the state have been named to the North-South squads for the 15th annual Alabama All-Star Sports Week competition that returns to Montgomery July 11-15, according to a Friday announcement by Steve Bailey, director of the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association (AHSADCA).

The girls and boys all-star teams will square off in a Wednesday all-star game (July 13) at Alabama State University’s Acadome beginning at 6 p.m.

Sports Week, which also includes in-state all-star games in soccer, baseball, volleyball, softball and football, will feature clinic and special sessions for coaches, principals, athletic directors, cheerleader coaches and officials. An All-Sports Equipment Expo and other related activities are scheduled throughout the week. One highlight of the Sports Week will be a Sportsmanship Banquet honoring all schools that have not had an ejection or fine in the 2010-11 school year, and the annual Championship Coaches Awards Banquet which will conclude the week.

Coaches for the basketball squads will be announced at a later date.

Members of the NORTH girls team are:
Guards: Breion Allen, Hoover; Morgan Beaird, Gaston; Chelsee Black, Bessemer City; Hayden Hamby, West Morgan; Jordan Johnson, Hatton; Lydia McGee, Madison Academy; Tiarra Pollnitz, Shades Valley; Hannah Sharp, Red Bay; Jasmine Steele, Midfield; Kendara Watts, Fairfield.
Forwards: Ashley Beverly, Minor; Chardonae Fuqua, Hoover; Jasmine Jones, Bob Jones; Tierra Jones, Bob Jones; Krista Stricklin, Hayden.

SOUTH girls team members are:
Guards: Kierra Billingsley, Edward Bell; Alfondria Brown, Sumter County; Leah Brundidge, T.R. Miller; Emily Davis, Enterprise; Alexis Horton, Andalusia; Shandrika Richardson, Greene County; Ashanti Smith, Calhoun; Jaylan Snowden, Davidson; Jada Williams, Jeff Davis; Amber Yeilding, Daphne.
Forwards: Dominique Kelly, Brewbaker Tech; Shadijah Moore, Demopolis; Jasmine Peeples, Selma.
Centers: Jasmine Lee, Flomaton.

NORTH boys team members are:
Guards: Perrin Buford, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa; Lajuan Doss, Pickens County; Lasheddrick Edmondson, Anniston; Michael Gilmore, Erwin; Deondre Haynes, Calera; Matthew Hines, Tanner; Justin Pride, Butler; Mario Stramaglia, Mountain Brook; Nigel Whatley, Wenonah.
Forwards: Baryn Houston, Vestavia Hills; Darius Nelson, Decatur; William Powell, Huntsville.
Centers: Sloan Garner, Piedmont; Quinterian McConico, Woodlawn.

SOUTH boys team members are:
Guards: Brandon Grant, Baker; Rhett Harrelson, Enterprise; Aimal Hayes, Dallas County; Daijon Macklien, Auburn; Petey McClain, Faith Academy; Mario Oliver, Southside-Selma; Takwain Whigham, Barbour County; Timothy Yeldon, Daphne.
Forwards: Paul Harris, Brewbaker Tech; Billy Ingram, Sumter County; Tylzswain Jones, Lanett; Kerry Mitchell, Selma; Wendell Snow, Central-Hayneville; Jacard Townsend, Andalusia.
Centers: Romoane Eager, Murphy.

The AHSADCA operates under the auspices of the Alabama High School Athletic Association. Membership includes coaches of all AHSAA sports as well as administrators of member schools.