WSN JV wins tournament Saturday, TRM goes 1-2

Published 11:27 am Monday, March 28, 2011

The W.S. Neal JV baseball team hosted a four-team tournament Saturday in East Brewton and posted a 3-0 record to claim the tournament championship.
The Eagles defeated Andalusia 3-2, Flomaton 2-1 and T.R. Miller 9-4 to get take the championship.
Flomaton finished in second place with a 1-2 record losing to Andalusia and W.S. Neal and T.R. Miller placed third also going 1-2 losing to Flomaton and W.S. Neal. Andalusia went 1-2 losing to W.S. Neal and T.R. Miller.
T.R. Miller opened the tournament with an 8-2 loss to Flomaton but defeated Andalusia 8-5 in the second game.
With the wins, W.S. Neal improved to 7-0-2 while T.R. Miller fell to 4-5 overall.
No stats were known from the 3-2 win for the Eagles over Andalusia.

Flomaton 8, TRM 2
After a 2-2 tie, Flomaton scored three runs in the bottom of the second and three in the fourth to get an 8-2 win over T.R. Miller in the first game Saturday at the W.S. Neal tournament.
Brett Smith was 1-for-2 and Dominique Jackson was 1-for-2 with a double. Rob Stokes was 1-for-2 and Caden Lodge was 1-for-2 with one RBI.
Darby Black was 1-for-2 with a double and one RBI.

TRM 8, Andalusia 5
In their second game of the tournament, T.R. Miller defeated Andalusia 8-5 to even their record in the tournament to 1-1.
With the game tied 2-2 after the second inning, T.R. Miller scored six in the third to win the game 8-5 after the Bulldogs scored three of their own in the third.
Darby Black earned the win on the mound for T.R. Miller striking out six.
At the plate for T.R. Miller, Rob Stokes was 1-for-2 and Cody Smith was 1-for-2 with one RBI. Black was 1-for-2 with a double and Dominique Jackson and Zac Griffin were both 1-for-2.
Ryann Gray was 1-for-2 with a double and Lowell Swain was 2-for-2 with a double and four RBIs. Josh Maloy was 1-for-1 with a triple and one RBI.

Email newsletter signup

WSN 2, Flomaton 1
Miles Powell’s two-run homerun in the third inning for W.S. Neal gave them a 2-1 win over Flomaton in their second game of the tournament.
Flomaton led 1-0 after the first inning until Powell’s homerun gave W.S. Neal the one-run lead.
Jeremy Myers would keep the Hurricanes scoreless the rest of the game as he earned the win on the mound for the Eagles.
Myers went the complete game allowing four hits and struck out six.
At the plate for the Eagles, Powell was 1-for-2 with a homerun and two RBIs and Myers was 1-for-1 with a double.

WSN 9, TRM 4
In the final game of the tournament, the W.S. Neal Eagles used a five-run first inning to defeat T.R. Miller 9-4.
W.S. Neal had an 8-1 lead after two innings of play and a 9-2 lead after the third inning.
In the top of the fourth for the Tigers, Chandler Brown hit a two-run homerun to cut the lead to 9-4, but W.S. Neal took the win by five to claim the tournament championship.
Powell earned the win on the mound for the Eagles pitching four innings allowing three hits, four runs and struck out four.
Ryann Gray took the loss on the mound for the Tigers allowing three hits, five runs, one earned and walked two. Gray pitched in the top of the first inning for the Tigers.
Brett Smith relieved Gray and pitched three innings.
At the plate for the Tigers, Brown led going 1-for-2 with a two-run homerun followed back Black and Jackson both going 1-for-2.
At the plate for the Eagles, Brandon Carmichael was 1-for-3 and Myers was 2-for-2 with two doubles. Austin Dixon was 1-for-1 along with Taylor Elliott and Cam Easterling was 1-for-2.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam