Brewton 10U softball celebrates at Whataburger before World Series

Published 9:39 am Wednesday, July 20, 2011

The 2011 Brewton Cal Ripken 10-and-under Alabama state champion softball team was treated to a Whataburger sendoff supper Tuesday night in Brewton. Whataburger officials treated the team to a supper along with family, friends, coaches, and Brewton mayor Ted Jennings.
“We want to say congratulations and a great job to you and best of luck from Whataburger,” Whataburger officials said Tuesday at the supper. “We are proud of all of you and we are glad to have you here today.”
Brewton mayor Ted Jennings presented the team with an Alabama state flag sent from Governor Robert Bentley.
“We want to thank Whataburger for doing this,” Jennings said. “They have not been in the Brewton family long, but thank you. I want to say to you girls that all of you are special. We are proud of you. All of Brewton is proud of you. We know you will represent Brewton and the state of Alabama as state champions well.”
Making the 10-and-under team is: Hayley Thompson, Steely Ruzic, Alexis King, Anna Grace White, Myra Reiss, Mary Madison Brown, Hannah Lisenby, Mallori Floyd, Morgan Longmire, Gabbi Solomon, and Kennedy Harp.
Coaches for the team will be Will Ruzic, Terry Reiss, Greg White and Robbie Floyd.
The Cal Ripken World Series will be held July 21-24 in Lewisburg, Tenn.
Brewton will be the lone team from Alabama and will match up against two teams each from South Carolina, Virginia, Florida, Tennessee, and North Carolina.
Brewton will be one of 11 teams at the tournament and will be one of six teams in the American Division pool.
Other teams in Brewton’s pool are Land Run from South Carolina, Leesburg from Virginia, Ponte Vedra from Florida, Warren County from East Tennessee and Union West from West North Carolina.
In the National Division there will be five teams: West Ashley from South Carolina, Glen Allen from Virginia, Pitt County from East North Carolina, Oviedo from Florida and host team Marshall County from East Tennessee.
The tournament will begin Thursday, July 21, with Brewton taking on Lands Run and later playing Warren County.
On day two, Friday, July 22, Brewton will play Leesburg and will finish up pool play on Saturday, July 23 with Union East.
No game times were available as of press time.
The top two teams from each pool will advance to the single elimination bracket. The National Seed No. 2 will play the American Seed No. 1 while the American No. 2 will play National No. 1.
The two winners will advance to play for the championship.

Whataburger held a special supper for the team Tuesday.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam