Daphne’s Yeldon named Mr. Football

Published 2:28 pm Wednesday, January 18, 2012

MONTGOMERY – Daphne running back T.J. Yeldon was named the 30th recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Football Award on Wednesday at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association. The event was held at the Alabama Activity Center.
Yeldon – a 6-foot-2, 210-pound running back – rushed for 2,196 yards in 12 games during 2011 on 231 carries, for a 9.6 average per carry to go with 31 touchdowns on the season. He broke the 300-yard mark on two occasions in leading the Trojans to the Class 6A No. 1 ranking for much of the season and a 10-2 final record. As a junior, Yeldon rushed for 1,110 yards and 18 touchdowns while grabbing 506 yards receiving in helping the Trojans to the Class 6A title.
Yeldon finished with 187 points in the vote by the ASWA’s prep committee. Hueytown quarterback Jameis “Jaboo” Winston, the Class 5A Back of the Year, was second with 173 points, while Anniston running back Troymaine Pope, the Class 4A Back of the Year, was third with 116. Fultondale quarterback and Class 2A Back of the Year ArDarius Stewart was fourth with 84 and Thomasville linebacker and Class 4A Lineman of the Year Tyler Hayes was fifth with 79 points.
Yeldon was named the ASWA Class 6A Back of the Year and was chosen to the group’s Super 12 team. He rushed for 116 yards and three touchdowns in the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game and was an U.S. Army All-American Bowl participant, where he had 51 all-purpose yards. Yeldon is currently enrolled at the University of Alabama.
In winning the Mr. Football award, Yeldon becomes the first running back to win the award since Carnell Williams of Etowah in 2000 and the sixth player from the Mobile area, joining Tommy Compton (Vigor, 1982), Darrell Williams (Vigor, 1988), DeMarco McNeil (Blount, 1998), JaMarcus Russell (Williamson, 2002) and Julio Jones (Foley, 2007).


1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor
1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom
1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale
1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood
1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery
1987 Robert Jones, Parker
1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor
1989 Steven Coleman, Pike Co.
1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin
1991 Robert Davis, Homewood
1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah
1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson
1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley
1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis
1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa
1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria
1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount
1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville
2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah
2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville
2002 JaMarcus Russell,Williamson
2003 Chris Nickson, Pike Co.
2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover
2005 Andre Smith, Huffman
2006 Larry Smith, Prattville
2007 Julio Jones, Foley
2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy
2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee Co.
2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka
2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne

Email newsletter signup

Back/Lineman voting lists top 3 vote getters only; Super 12/Mr Football voting is top 12 only. 41 players received votes on the ASWA Super 12.

Class 1A Back
DeMarko Hall, Pickens County, 69
Anthony Robinson, Linden, 56
Terrence Hollingsworth, Berry, 49
Class 1A Lineman
Terris Lewis, Linden, 60
Damien Davenport, McIntosh, 43
Curtavious Gray, Winterboro, 29
Class 2A Back
ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 76
Austin Grammer, American Christian, 62
Michael Lindsey, Elba, 51
Class 2A Lineman
Bradley Patterson, Red Bay, 58
Kyle Sappington, American Christian, 54
Kemond Gauntt, Reeltown, 44
Class 3A Back
Diamond Simmons, Hanceville, 55
Ladarius Rodgers, Leeds, 48
Shawncey Simmons, Clay County, 31
Class 3A Lineman
Bradley Bozeman, Handley, 63
Javiere Mitchell, Leeds, 40
Chris Dillard, Handley, 32
Class 4A Back
Troymaine Pope, Anniston, 73
Dustyn Moseley, Jackson, 58
C.J. Cutts, Bibb Co., 43
Class 4A Lineman
Tyler Hayes, Thomasville, 73
Rod Crayton, Dadeville, 46
Darren Lake, Sumter County, 41
Class 5A Back
Jameis Winston, Hueytown, 79
Maurice Crews, Eufaula, 54
Jake Ganus, Chelsea, 39
Class 5A Lineman
Chris Rabb, Hueytown, 79
Jamichael Winston, Vigor, 55
Dee Liner, Muscle Shoals, 46
Class 6A Back
T.J. Yeldon, Daphne, 80
Trae Elston, Oxford, 52
Caleb Sims, Hoover, 45
Class 6A Lineman
Reggie Ragland, Bob Jones, 69
Austin Golson, Prattville, 53
Ryan Anderson, Daphne, 47
Sam Coleman, Edgewood Academy, 76
Xavier Bond, Glenwood, 60
Parker Hughes, Morgan Academy, 53
AISA Lineman
Nick McLaughlin, Pike Liberal, 74
Blake Glaze, Springwood, 59
E.J. Sledge, Bessemer Academy, 43
T.J. Yeldon, Daphne, 187
Jameis “Jaboo” Winston, Hueytown, 173
Troymaine Pope, Anniston, 116
ArDarius Stewart, Fultondale, 84
Tyler Hayes, Thomasville, 79
Reggie Ragland, Bob Jones, 65
Chris Rabb, Hueytown, 57
Ryan Anderson, Daphne, 51
DeMarko Hall, Pickens County, 46
Diamond Simmons, Hanceville, 35
Austin Grammer, American Christian, 31
Dustyn Moseley, Jackson, 29