Thunder wins East Brewton 7-8 championship

Published 9:07 am Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Friday night in East Brewton the Thunder team won the championship in a game that came down to the wire.
In the top of the first, Flomaton scored four runs to take an early lead over the Thunder. Down 4-0, the Thunder bats got hot and scored five runs of their own to take the lead by one, 5-4.
In the second inning, Flomaton answered back by retaking the lead in the top of the second by a score of 10-5 only to see the Thunder begin to roll again by scoring six runs and because of the rule of only six runs per team an inning, the Thunder team headed back to the field with a one-run lead, 11-10.
Neither team scored in the third inning and with only minutes to spare in the time limit the fourth inning began with the Thunder still on top 11-10.
Flomaton scored two runs in the fourth to take a 12-11.
In the bottom of the inning, with two outs and no runners on base for the Thunder, Easton Grace stepped to the plate and hit a single.
Dustin Godwin, who would later score the winning run, stepped to the plate with two outs, a runner on first and hit a triple to left field to tie the game at12-all.
With the game-winning run standing on third base, Blake McNew hit a walk off single with two strikes and two outs to win the contest.
Collin Nelson was 1-for-3 with one RBI for the Thunder in the win and Grace was 3-for-3.
Godwin was 3-for-3 with four RBIs and McNew was 3-for-3 with three RBIs.
Nathan Gardner went 1-for-2 with one RBI and Dakota Rose was 2-for-2 with two RBIs.
Gavin Rose was 2-for-2 with one RBI, Langham Parr was 1-for-2 with one RBI, Micah Martin was 1-for-2, Evanda Campbell was 1-for-2, and Emily Steele was 1-for-2.
Following the Thunder in first place were the Bulls in second, Flomaton-Sims in the third, Flomaton-Vickery in fourth, Hot Rods in fifth and Scrappers in sixth.
Team members for the Thunder include: Collin Nelson, Easton Grace, Dustin Godwin, Blake McNew, Nathan Gardner, Langham Parr, Dakota Rose, Gavin Rose, Walker Burch, Micah Martin, Evanda Campbell, and Emily Steele.
Coaches are: Charlie Rose, Andy McCurdy, Ryan Parr, Shamar Campbell and Frankie Godwin.

Email newsletter signup