Municipal election qualifying begins Tuesday

Published 2:00 am Saturday, June 30, 2012

Let election season begin.
Qualifying for municipal offices begins Tuesday, with only nine days in the period because of the July 4 holiday.
In Brewton, three candidates have already tossed their hats in the ring for mayor — Yank Lovelace, Frank Nalty and David Jennings. Each is vying to replace retiring Mayor Ted Jennings.
In East Brewton, current mayor Terry Clark has said he will run for the office hoping for a sixth term in office.
Qualifying will end at 5 p.m. July 17.
Council seats in both Brewton and East Brewton are filled at each election with only a slight difference in offices between the two cities.
While Brewton’s council members are elected based on their district of residence, in East Brewton, the five council members are at-large candidates.
Those interested in qualifying for any seat on the council or for the mayor’s office in either city must file qualification forms in order to be placed on the ballot, Brewton City Clerk John Angel said.
Candidates must have been a resident in the city limits for at least 90 days before qualifying, and they must have been a registered voter in the city for at least 30 days before qualifying.
No city council member in either city has officially announced his or her intentions to seek re-election. No opponents for any seat have come forth at this time.
Current Brewton city council members are Dennis Dunaway, Frank Cotton, Cary Barton, Joe Watson and Fred Barton.
Current East Brewton council members are Byron Palmer, Bob Arrant, Ludon Simmons, Kenny Hultz and Ned Sibert.
Municipal elections will be held Aug. 28 with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Email newsletter signup