Municipal qualifying off to running start

Published 3:26 pm Thursday, July 5, 2012

Qualifying for election to municipal offices in Brewton and East Brewton began Tuesday with several candidates filing papers that put their names on the ballot.

In Brewton, two businessmen filed papers that put them in the running for the mayor’s seat to be vacated by Ted Jennings, who has chosen not to run for the office.

Yank Lovelace and Frank Nalty have thrown their hats into the ring for the mayor’s position. David Jennings has also expressed his interest in the position, but had not filed papers as of press time Tuesday.

In East Brewton, current mayor Terry Clark was the only candidate to file paperwork to qualify to run for mayor.

Council seats are all up for grabs in both cities with East Brewton’s seats filled in an at-large election while Brewton’s seats are filled by district.

In Brewton, Joe Watson qualified to seek a second term in the seat he holds representing District 4. Pat Poole filed qualifying papers to seek election to the District 1 seat on the council, which is currently held by Dennis Dunaway.

No other candidates had filed papers for seats on Brewton’s city council as of press time Tuesday.

Council seats for Brewton are currently held by Dunaway in District 1; Frank Cotten in District 2; Cary Barton in District 3; Watson in District 4; and Fred Barton in District 5.

No candidates had filed for election qualifications for any of the council positions for East Brewton.

The qualifying period for candidates hoping to win a seat as mayor or council member in either city will continue through 5 p.m. on July 17.

Municipal elections will be held Aug. 28 with polls open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., city officials said.