• 68°

WSN softball to start season Tuesday

W.S. Neal head softball coach Jeff Haney has released his team’s 2013 softball schedule.
The Lady Eagles will play 20 games with eight home games on the schedule and 12 on the road. Of the 12 road games, three will be in the Escambia County Tournament at JDCC.
W.S. Neal’s opponents this year include Central of Florida, Excel, Flomaton, Cottage Hill, Jay, Hillcrest, Bayside Academy, T.R. Miller, Florala and tournament games in the Lady Tiger Classic in Thomasville.
W.S. Neal will begin their season on Tuesday, Feb. 19 with a home game against Central.
Along with the Lady Tiger Classic, W.S. Neal will play in the Escambia County Tournament at JDCC. The tournament starts Friday, April 19 and will carry over to Saturday, April 20. W.S. Neal won the inaugural tournament last year with a 3-0 record.
W.S. Neal will also play in the TRM Invitational Friday, March 1 and Saturday, March 2.
The JV Lady Eagles will play 11 games with six home and five away.
T.R. Miller, Bayside Academy and Cottage Hill will all be area games for the Eagles this season as they drop down to 3A.
Here is the complete schedule for the Lady Eagles:
• Tuesday, Feb. 19, Central, Home, V/JV, 4/6 p.m.
• Saturday, Feb. 23, Lady Tiger Classic, Away, TBA
• Tuesday, Feb. 26, Excel, Away, JV/V, 4/5:30 p.m.
• Thursday, Feb. 28, Flomaton, Home, JV only, DH, 4/5:30 p.m.
• Friday, March 1, TRM Invitational, Away, TBA
• Saturday, March 2, TRM Invitational, Away, TBA
• Tuesday, March 5, Cottage Hill, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• Thursday, March 7, Jay, Home, V/JV, 4/6 p.m.
• Friday, March 8, Hillcrest, Away, V/JV, 4/6 p.m.
• Tuesday, March 12, Bayside Academy, Away, 4 p.m.
• Thursday, March 14, T.R. Miller, Away, V/JV, 4/6 p.m.
• Friday, March 15, Hillcrest, Home, V/JV, 4/6 p.m.
• Friday, March 22, Flomaton, Away, JV/V, 4/5:30 p.m.
• Monday, April 1, Jay, Away, JV/V, 4/6 p.m.
• Thursday, April 4, Cottage Hill, Away, 4 p.m.
• Tuesday, April 9, Central, Away, 4 p.m.,
• Thursday, April 11, T.R. Miller, Home, V/JV, 4/6 p.m.
• Friday, April 12, Florala, Away, 4:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, April 16, Bayside Academy, Home, 4 p.m.
• Thursday, April 18, Flomaton, Home, 4 p.m.
• Friday, April 19, Escambia County Tournament, JDCC, TBA
• Saturday, April 20, Escambia County Tournament, JDCC, TBA
• Tuesday, April 23, Florala, Home, 4:30 p.m.
• TBA, Area Tournament, TBA, TBA
• Friday, May 10, Regional Tournament, Gulf Shores, TBA
• Saturday, May 11, Regional Tournament, Gulf Shores, TBA
• Thursday-Saturday, May 16-18, State Tournament, Montgomery, TBA

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam