T.R. Miller football’s Jamie Riggs in “greatest coach” poll

Published 2:00 am Monday, July 8, 2013

T.R. Miller football coach Jamie Riggs is one of seven active or retired football coaches from across the state of Alabama to be considered in a recent poll as the greatest coach in Alabama football history since the modern-era football playoffs began.
Riggs is up against Buddy Alverson (Vestavia Hills), Danny Horn (Clay County and Benjamin Russell), Spence McCracken (Montgomery Academy, Lee-Montgomery, Opelika), Rush Propst (Ashville, Eufaula, Alba, Alma Bryant, Hoover), Walden Tucker (Demopolis Academy, Gordo, Fayette County) and Louis White (Courtland).
Along with coaching at T.R. Miller, Riggs has served as head coach of the Opp Bobcats. His overall coaching record is 273-75-0—a .784 win percentage with four state titles in 1991, 1994, 2000 and 2002. He ranks ninth all-time on the career wins list after 27 seasons.
While winning four titles, Riggs and his Tigers also have four runner-up spots and reached the state title game eight times during that 13-year span.
Riggs and the Tigers were state runner-ups in 1990, 1995, 1996 and 1998.
He was inducted in the class of 2010 to the AHSAA Hall of Fame inductee. Riggs guided his Tiger teams to the state semifinals 14 times in his 24 seasons at T.R. Miller.
His teams won an AHSAA-best 117 games during the 1990s and also forged a 27-game win streak between 1994-1995. Riggs has been named an Alabama Coach of the Year three times along his career. His teams have now gone 101-26 (.795 win percentage) in region play.
Riggs has been head coach and athletic director at T.R. Miller High School in Brewton since 1989.
His team won 27 games in a row in 1994-95.
To vote, go to: http://highschoolsports.al.com/news/article/-7732330119870306574/whos-the-greatest-coach-in-alabama-high-school-football-history-poll/.
Voting will take place all summer and final results will be tallied when the poll closes in early August.
The winner will be determined solely by online voting.
Here is a list of the other candidates and their accomplishments:
• (Active) Buddy Anderson, Vestavia Hills (296-123 won-loss record). Also: .706 win percentage, 2 state titles). Career wins rank: 3rd all-time after 35 seasons
• (Active) Danny Horn, Clay County and Benjamin Russell (245-65 won-loss record). Also: .790 win percentage, 6 state titles. Career wins rank: 14th all-time after 24 seasons
• Spence McCracken, Montgomery Academy, Lee-Montgomery and Opelika (280-81-1 won-loss record). Also: .776 win percentage, 3 state titles. Career wins rank: 6th all-time after 30 seasons
• Rush Propst, Ashville, Eufaula, Alba, Alma Bryant and Hoover (176-61-0 in Alabama; now coaches in Ga.). Also: .743 win percentage, 5 state titles. Career wins rank: Outside the Top 30 all-time after 19 seasons
• Walden Tucker, Demopolis Academy, Gordo and Fayette County (309-126-3). Also: .710 win percentage, 2 state titles. Career wins rank: 1st all-time after 37 seasons
• Louis White, Courtland (181-83-0 won-loss record). Also: .686 win percentage, 4 state titles. Career wins rank: Outside the Top 40 all-time after 24 years.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam