Congressional primary set for Tuesday

Published 11:58 pm Friday, September 20, 2013

Brewton voters will have their voices heard Tuesday, as they head to the polls for a special primary election to help determine their next congressman.

Tuesday’s primary election will determine the candidates to fill the U.S. House of Representatives, District 1, seat that was vacated by Jo Bonner’s resignation. Voters in Tuesday’s election will be able to vote for either the Republican candidate, or the Democratic candidate, but not both.

Email newsletter signup

If a runoff primary election is required, it will be held Nov. 5, and the general election will be held Dec. 17. If there is no runoff needed, the general election will be held Nov. 5.

Tuesday’s polls will be open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m., said Mike Watson of the Escambia County Board of Registrars. Voters must have a form of identification — typically a driver’s license — when they arrive at the polling place.

Watson said that voters should vote at their regular polling locations, which are listed on their county voter registration cards. Any voters who are unsure if they are registered, or have a question about where to vote, can call the Board of Registrars at (251) 867-0243.

The Republican candidates are:

• Bradley Byrne, a former state senator and former Republican candidate for governor, who also served as the past chancellor of the Alabama Department of Postsecondary Education;

• Daniel Dyas, a small business owner;

• State Rep. Chad Fincher, a small business owner;

• Wells Griffith, an attorney who is also the deputy chief of staff for the Republican National Committee;

• Quin Hillyer, a conservative columnist for the American Spectator;

• Jessica James, a Realtor and grant writer for Bishop State Community College;

• Sharon Powe, a legal assistant for the U.S. Small Business Administration;

• David “Thunder” Thornton, a retired Shell production specialist and retail employee;

• Dean Young, a Realtor and small business owner who is a former candidate for Congress.

The Democratic candidates are:

• Lula Albert-Kaigler, a retired self-employed worker;

• Burton LeFlore, who works in real estate.

Independent candidate James Hall, a former U.S. Marine, has also qualified for the race.

He will be automatically be listed on the general election ballot in November or December.

The winner of this year’s special election will complete Bonner’s remaining term, and then immediately face re-election in 2014.