• 77°

Basketball season is upon us

With football season winding down in the area and across the state, that only means one thing: basketball season is on the horizon.
Basketball season began in the area Tuesday night as Brewton Middle School’s teams travelled to Andalusia.
JDCC’s basketball team will begin their basketball season a week from today, Wednesday, Nov. 6, at home against Spring Hill College.
See next Wednesday’s edition of The Brewton Standard for a preview of their season and their schedule.
W.S. Neal High School will start their basketball season on Tuesday, Nov. 19, at home against Red Level.
The Lady Tigers of T.R. Miller will kick things off in the Choctawhatchee Tournament on Monday, Nov. 25 through Wednesday, Nov. 27. The B-team and varsity boys will start their season on Tuesday, Nov. 26 with a home game against Northview.
The first regular season games for all teams will be Saturday, Nov. 30 at Monroe County.
Here are the schedules for both Brewton and W.S. Neal Middle School this season.
BMS
Brewton Middle School’s basketball team began their season Tuesday night at Andalusia.
The schedule for Brewton shows 10 games with five home games and five away games.
The Tigers will play Lyeffion, Jay, W.S. Neal, Andalusia and McCall this season with one game being at home and one on the road.
Gerald McAnally is the boys and Ron Jackson is the girls coach this season.
Here is the complete schedule for BMS:
• Monday, Nov. 4, W.S. Neal, Home, 4 p.m.
• Tuesday, Nov. 12, Jay, Away, 4 p.m.
• Thursday, Nov. 14, McCall, Away, 6 p.m.
• Thursday, Nov. 21, Andalusia, Home, 5 p.m.
• Monday, Nov. 25, Lyeffion, Away, 5 p.m.
• Tuesday, Dec. 3, McCall, Home, 4 p.m.
• Thursday, Dec. 5, W.S. Neal, Away, 3:30 p.m.
• Monday, Dec. 9, Jay, Home, 4 p.m.
• Thursday, Dec. 12, Lyeffion, Home, 5 p.m.
WSNMS
The W.S. Neal Middle School basketball team will begin their 2013 season Monday, Nov. 4 on the road at Brewton Middle School.
The schedule for W.S. Neal shows eight games with four home games and four away games.
The Eagles will play Brewton, Flomaton, McCall and Jay this season with one game being at home and one on the road.
Ray Patterson is the boys coach while Adrienne Johnson will serve as the girls coach this season.
Here is the complete schedule for W.S. Neal:
• Monday, Nov. 4, Brewton, Away, 4 p.m.
• Tuesday, Nov. 5, Flomaton, Home, 4 p.m.
• Wednesday, Nov. 13, Jay, Away, 3 p.m.
• Wednesday, Nov. 20, Flomaton, Away, 3:30 p.m.
• Thursday, Nov. 21, McCall, Away, 1 p.m.
• Wednesday, Dec. 4, Jay, Home, 3 p.m.
• Thursday, Dec. 5, Brewton, Home, 3:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, Dec. 10, McCall, Home, 1 p.m.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam