JDCC holds Murder Creek Classic

Published 9:15 am Wednesday, October 30, 2013

The threat of rain did not keep seventy-eight golfers from heading to the links of the Country Club of Brewton recently as they participated in the 13th annual Jefferson Davis Community College Foundation’s Murder Creek Classic golf tournament.
The Scott’s Outdoors team of Mike Scott, Jack Slocum and David Jones captured first place in the First Flight.  
The David’s Catfish House’s team of Josh Godwin, David Stokes, Chippy Byrne and Joey Turner placed second with the United Bank team of Bruce Trawick, Tommy White, R.P. Phillips and Jeremy Carpenter taking third place.
Winning the second flight was the Wind Creek Casino & Hotel team of Jerry Ordis, Dino Rolin, Anthony Phillips and Gary Sanchez.  
The Jackson Thornton & Company team of Ed Williamson, Tommy Thompson, Kevin Bohanon and James Weaver placed second.  Third place went to the Trustmark team of John B. Barnett, II, Bill Lewis, J.S. Nelson and Andrew Clark.
The third flight team champions were the Boohaker, Schillaci & Co. team of John Boohaker, Brian Faircloth, Bob McMillan and Larry Waldrep, while First National Bank & Trust’s team of Dale Hurst, Jason Boothe and Stephen Van Pelt took second place.  
Third place went to the T.R. Miller Mill Company team of Danny White, Ron Cauley, Ken Greco and Chris Smith.
After qualifying 12 golfers for closest to the pin on hole No. 17, the Shoot-Out winners were Kevin Bohanon, first place; R.P. Phillips, second place; and John Downing, third place.
“I want to thank everyone, players and sponsors, for participating and for making this such a successful fundraiser for the JDCC Foundation,” Camille Cochrane, Interim President of JDCC said. “The money raised provides scholarships and support for both current and future JDCC students. The College is truly appreciative of everyone’s support.”
Andrew Clark, President of the JDCC Foundation, was delighted with this year’s turnout and support from the community.
“The JDCC Murder Creek Classic is such a fun event for us. Not only does the golf tournament raise funds for the JDCC Foundation it also gives the community a chance get out on a Thursday afternoon and enjoy great food and friends. Excellent weather and a beautiful golf course simply make this an event no one wants to miss. We are truly blessed in Escambia County to have a community college like JDCC and the fact that we have such wonderful supporters of that asset is really special,” Clark said.
Sponsors of the event included Platinum sponsors Goodway Refining, Longleaf Energy Group, Shoot-out sponsor, Trustmark and Shirt sponsor, Wind Creek Casino & Hotel; Gold sponsors Bank of Brewton, First National Bank and Trust and Georgia-Pacific; and Lunch sponsor, Siemens Building Technologies.
Silver sponsor Endeavor Acquisitions, LLD.  Jim Peach Motors was the hole-in-one sponsor.
Hole Sponsors include: BancCorp South, Brewton Animal Hospital, Brewton Insurance Agency, Brewton Mill Credit Union, Diamond Oil, Everette Price, Jr., Attorney-at-Law, Hartmann, Blackmon & Kilgore P.C., John Jernigan, Attorney-at-Law, Nalty Seasonings, NDI, Ronny & Sherry Martin, ServPro, Sherrer Lawn Care, Scott’s Outdoors, Southern Pine Electric, Swift Supply, Timberline Homes, and Tri-Co Electric.
Other teams and golfers were American Klassic Designs (AKD) – Greg Schaefer , Skeeter Schilling, George Aust & Dale Jones; Bank of Brewton – Don Ward, Joe Terrell, Charlie McDaniel & Jack Cain; the team of Jake Billingsley – Jake Billingsley, David Peace, John Hart & Rucker Brown; Coley Air Conditioning – Judd Coley, Jake Thomas, Shane Hadley & Chapman Maxwell; Endeavor Acquisitions, LLC – Robert Bussey, Gary Caperton, Mike Burns & Mike Feely; Escambia County Bank – Caleb Thompson, Joe Thomas, Jim Johnson & Robert Barrow; Georgia Pacific – Tim Kelley, Roberto Flores, Mark Sebastian & Kirstien Dickey; Longleaf Energy Group – Tom McMillan, Denver Rawlings, Eddie Bernard & Trey Burgess; Siemen’s Building Technologies – David Lewandowski, Larry Gillespie, Jason Adcock & Tony Atchley; Team of Bernie Wall – Bernie Wall, Tom Dyne, Clifford Watson & Melvin Davis;the team of Bill Watson, Allen Thompson, Randy Akeridge & John Downing.
Raffle prizes were donated by Scott’s Outdoors, NDI, Nalty Seasonings and The Treasure Chest.
The tournament was a four-person scramble format with the teams assigned to flights according to their handicap.

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam