Special Congressional election today

Published 8:38 am Tuesday, December 17, 2013


Voters will go to the polls Tuesday, Dec. 17, to determine who will serve as the next representative from the 1st Congressional District, which includes Escambia County.

The candidates who will be on Tuesday’s ballot are the Republican nominee Bradley Byrne, the Democratic nominee Burton LeFlore and independent candidate James Hall.

The winner of Tuesday’s election will fill the seat left vacant by former U.S. Rep. Jo Bonner, who resigned in August. The winner will complete Bonner’s term and then immediately face re-election in 2014.
Tuesday’s polls will be open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. Voters must have a form of identification, such as a driver’s license, in order to vote.

Voters should vote at their regular polling locations, which are listed on their county voter registration cards. Any voters who are unsure if they are registered, or have a question about where to vote, can call the Board of Registrars at (251) 867-0243.

Alabama’s 1st Congressional District includes all of Escambia, Washington, Mobile, Baldwin and Monroe counties, and part of Clarke County.