Oxford’s Racean Thomas named 2013 Mr. Football by Alabama Sports Writers Association

Published 2:01 pm Wednesday, January 15, 2014

From staff reports

MONTGOMERY – Oxford’s Racean Thomas was named the 32nd recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Football Award on Wednesday at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association. The annual luncheon was held at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery.

Thomas, a 5-11, 200-pound senior, fought injuries this season and still came away with 2,211 yards rushing and 32 touchdowns. The three-time ASWA first-team all-state selection finished his high school career with 6,169 yards rushing and 82 touchdowns. The Class 6A Back of the Year was selected for the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game and the Under Armour All-American Bowl and has committed to Auburn.

Thomas was a runaway winner, garnering 217 points and 15 of the 17 first-place votes from the ASWA prep committee. Calera’s Ronnie Clark, the Class 4A Back of the Year, was the runner up with 130 points, Class 6A Lineman of the Year, Rashaan Evans, of Auburn was third with 122, and Florence quarterback Kendrick Doss was fourth with 110 points. St. Paul’s linebacker Tre Williams was fifth with 96 points and one first-place vote, while Class 1A Back of the Year, Jermarcus Brown of Pickens County, was sixth with 91 points and a first-place vote.

All six players were selected for the ASWA Super 12 team, along with running back Keith Mixon of Shades Valley, quarterback Tyler Johnston of Spanish Fort, running back Nick Gibson of Pinson Valley, offensive lineman Jordan Sims of Homewood, running back Dantley Coker of Southside-Gadsden and linebacker Shaun Hamilton of Carver-Montgomery.

In winning the Mr. Football award, Johnson becomes the first winner from Calhoun County since running back Mac Campbell of Alexandria in 1997 and is the second running back chosen as Mr. Football in three years (Daphne’s T.J. Yeldon in 2011), but only third since 2000 (Carnell Williams of Etowah in 2000).


1982 Tommy Compton, Vigor
1983 Freddie Weygand, Emma Sansom
1984 Roderick Green, Gardendale
1985 Pierre Goode, Hazlewood
1986 Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery
1987 Robert Jones, Parker
1988 Darrell Williams, Vigor
1989 Steven Coleman, Pike Co.
1990 David Palmer, Jackson-Olin
1991 Robert Davis, Homewood
1992 Freddie Kitchens, Etowah
1993 Thomas Banks, West Jefferson
1994 Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley
1995 Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis
1996 Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa
1997 Mac Campbell, Alexandria
1998 DeMarco McNeil, Blount
1999 Cory Whisenant, Springville
2000 Carnell Williams, Etowah
2001 Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville
2002 JaMarcus Russell, Williamson
2003 Chris Nickson, Pike Co.
2004 Jarod Bryant, Hoover
2005 Andre Smith, Huffman
2006 Larry Smith, Prattville
2007 Julio Jones, Foley
2008 Clint Moseley, Leroy
2009 Coty Blanchard, Cherokee Co.
2010 Jamal Golden, Wetumpka
2011 T.J. Yeldon, Daphne
2012 Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery
2013 Racean Thomas, Oxford

Back/Lineman voting lists top 3 vote getters only; Super 12/Mr Football voting is top 12 only; 39 players received votes on the ASWA Super 12. Voting for Back/Linemen of the Year and Super 12 are two different votes.

Jake McKenzie, Monroe Academy, 40
Jarrette Pope, Clarke Prep, 32
Josh Crawford, Edgewood Academy, 18

AISA Lineman
Cortney Wilbanks, Restoration, 44
Trey Carter, Monroe Academy, 25
Terrell Bush, Tuscaloosa Academy, 21

Class 1A Back
Jermarcus Brown, Pickens County, 68
Terrance Hollingsworth, Berry, 63
Brody Meeks, Lynn, 39

Class 1A Lineman
Eddquerrion Harris, R.A. Hubbard, 56
Ben Mills, Coosa Christian, 53
Jatevin Horn, Marengo, 47

Class 2A Back
Tyler Rogers, Mobile Christian, 64
Marlon Bridges, Lanett, 57
Jakoby Aldridge, Sweet Water, 51

Class 2A Lineman
Baltazar Rubio, Tanner, 73
Kadarrius Lawrence, Fultondale, 66
Trent Thrash, Fyffe, 38

Class 3A Back
Jamarius Henderson, Dale County, 65
Ryan Carpenter, Colbert County, 48
Malik Miller, Madison Academy, 40

Class 3A Lineman
Tyler Wright, Leeds, 62
Exavyer Jackson, Piedmont, 60
Frank Williams, Madison Academy, 39

Class 4A Back
Ronnie Clark, Calera, 80
Troy Dixon, UMS-Wright, 45
C.J. Tolbert, Dadeville, 37

Class 4A Lineman
Richard McBryde, Charles Henderson, 70
Blake Bean, Oneonta, 54
A.J. Smoot, Dora, 51

Class 5A Back
Nick Gibson, Pinson Valley, 63
Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort, 53
Dantley Coker, Southside-Gadsden, 52

Class 5A Lineman
Jordan Sims, Homewood, 66
Tre Williams, St. Paul’s, 58
Tyler Carr, Southside-Gadsden, 44

Class 6A Back
Racean Thomas, Oxford, 62
Kendrick Doss, Florence, 36
Keith Mixon, Shades Valley, 34

Class 6A Lineman
Rashaan Evans, Auburn, 74
Shaun Hamilton, Carver-Montgomery, 56
Keith Holcombe, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa, 39

Racean Thomas, Oxford, 217
Ronnie Clark, Calera, 130
Rashaan Evans, Auburn, 122
Kendrick Doss, Florence, 110
Tre Williams, St. Paul’s, 96
Jermarcus Brown, Pickens County, 91
Keith Mixon, Shades Valley, 90
Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort, 57
Nick Gibson, Pinson Valley, 51
Jordan Sims, Homewood, 47
Dantley Coker, Southside-Gadsden, 40
Shaun Hamilton, Carver-Montgomery, 29

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam