• 55°

JDCC volleyball drops home games

From staff reports

The Jefferson Davis Community College Lady Warhawk volleyball team went 0-3 in their recent three games. JDCC lost to Mobile and Bethel on Saturday, Sept. 6 and dropped a home game Thursday against Gadsden to fall to 2-7 overall and to 1-3 in conference play.
Against Mobile, JDCC lost 3-0. The Lady Warhawks lost 25-7, 25-14 and 25-17.
Against Bethel, JDCC lost 3-1. JDCC won set one 25-19 before falling in set two 25-20, in set three 25-17 and in set four 25-22.
Against Gadsden, JDCC lost 3-0. The Lady Warhawks lost set one 25-19, set two 25-16 and set three 25-13.
In a home game Friday against Wallace-Hanceville, JDCC lost 3-0. The Lady Warhawks lost set one 25-17, set two 25-14 and set three 25-8. The loss dropped JDCC to 2-8 overall and to 1-4 in conference play.
JDCC’s volleyball roster for the 2014 season includes:
Front: Jessica Porter, Natalie Jernigan
Middle: Caitlin Aldridge, Lauren Merts, Christian Divens, Tiffany Sawyer, Lauren Pierce
Back: Taylor Bradford, Jessica Lewis, Morgan Smith, Lauren Bradley, Morgan Payne, and manager Jade Danley.
The team is coached by Steven Dickey.
Here is JDCC’s upcoming games:
• Wednesday, Sept. 17, Lawson, Home, 7:30 p.m.
• Friday, Sept. 19, Hanceville, Hanceville, 2 p.m.
• Friday, Sept. 26, Gadsden, Gadsden, 4 p.m.
• Friday, Sept. 26, Snead, Boaz, 7 p.m.
• Monday, Sept. 29, University of Mobile, Home, 6 p.m.
• Saturday, Oct. 4, Southern Union, Wadley, 3:30 p.m.
• Wednesday, Oct. 8, Faulkner, Home, 6 p.m.
• Monday, Oct. 13, Selma, Home, 7 p.m.
• Thursday, Oct. 16, Pensacola State, Pensacola, 6 p.m.
• Tuesday, Oct. 21, Snead, Home, 2 p.m.
• Monday, Oct. 27, Pensacola, Home, 6 p.m.
• Saturday-Sunday, Nov. 1-2, Region Tournament, TBA, TBA

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam