• 75°

JDCC basketball to begin 2014-15 season Saturday

Jefferson Davis Community College head basketball coach Allen Gainer and his team will begin their 2014-15 season Saturday at Southern Union.
JDCC’s current roster shows 14 players with six being sophomores and eight freshman. The roster shows 11 players are from Alabama, two are from Florida while one is from Georgia.
Sophomore players include: Adrian Rich (Georgiana), Fletcher Forte (Pensacola, Fla.), Keenan Williams (Atlanta), Darren Wilson (Sylacauga), Zollie Johnson (Birmingham), and Brandon Davis (Birmingham).
Freshman players include: Truman Whitaker (Hartford), Ty’Qwan Bonner (Birmingham), Lance Davis (Andalusia), Rodney Gilbert (Sylacauga), LaBrannon Nix (Headland), D’Metrius Lemon (Lafayette), Jarvis Knight (Atmore), and Jerry “LJ” Aaron (Crestview, Fla.)
Rich, Oden, Forte, Bell and Gulley were all on last year’s team.
JDCC will play 23 games during the 2014-15 season with 11 being at home and 12 on the road. Two of the away games for JDCC will be in a tournament in Tallahassee on Nov. 26-27.
JDCC will have 14 conference games with seven at home and seven on the road. Conference games for JDCC include games against: Bishop State, Enterprise, Chattahoochee Valley, Wallace-Selma, Alabama Southern, LBW and Faulkner State.
Here is the complete schedule for JDCC’s Warhawk basketball team:
• Saturday, Nov. 8, Southern Union, Away, 3 p.m.
• Saturday, Nov. 15, Marion Military, Away, 3:30 p.m.
• Tuesday, Nov. 18, Lawson, Home, 7 p.m.
• Thursday, Nov. 20, Spring Hill, Away, 7 p.m.
• Wednesday, Nov. 26, Tallahassee Community College, Tallahassee, 7:30 p.m.
• Thursday, Nov. 27, Northwest Florida, Tallahassee, 3:30 p.m.
• Saturday, Dec. 6, Southern Union, Home, 3 p.m.
• Tuesday, Jan. 6, Marion Military, Home, 6:30 p.m.
• Thursday, Jan. 8, Bishop State, Away, 7 p.m.
• Tuesday, Jan. 13, Enterprise State, Home, 7 p.m.
• Wednesday, Jan. 14, Faulkner State, Home, 7 p.m.
• Tuesday, Jan. 20, Chattahoochee Valley, Away, 7 p.m.
• Thursday, Jan. 22, Wallace-Selma, Away, 7:30 p.m.
• Monday, Jan. 26, Alabama Southern, Home, 7 p.m.
• Thursday, Jan. 29, LBW, Away, 7 p.m.
• Monday, Feb. 2, Spring Hill, Home, 7 p.m.
• Thursday, Feb. 5, Bishop State, Home, 7 p.m.
• Monday, Feb. 9, Enterprise State, Away, 7 p.m.
• Thursday, Feb. 12, Faulkner State, Away, 7 p.m.
• Monday, Feb. 16, Chattahoochee Valley, Home, 7 p.m.
• Tuesday, Feb. 19, Wallace-Selma, Home, 7 p.m.
• Monday, Feb. 23, Alabama Southern, Away, 7 p.m.
• Wednesday, Feb. 25, LBW, Home, 7 p.m.
• Saturday, Feb. 28, ACCC Tournament (first round), If necessary, TBA
• TBA, ACCC Region Tournament, TBA, TBA

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam