• 79°

JDCC baseball to start Saturday

In just a few days, Jefferson Davis Community College Warhawk head baseball coach Darrell Blevins and his Warhawks will take to the diamond for their first game of the 2015 season Sat., Jan. 31.
JDCC’s first game of the season will be at home against Central Alabama to begin the season. Game time is set for noon and will be a doubleheader.
The schedule for the Warhawks shows 56 total games—including doubleheaders. JDCC will play 31 games with 25 of the 31 being doubleheaders. Of the 31 games, 14 will be at home and 17 on the road.
JDCC will play against eight conference teams—Faulkner State, Bishop State, Enterprise, LBW, Alabama Southern, Wallace Selma and Chattahoochee Valley and Wallace Dothan. JDCC’s first conference game will be Thurs., March 5, on the road against Faulkner State. The game will be a doubleheader slated to begin at noon.
JDCC will play their eight conference opponents in doubleheader games, playing one nine inning game followed by a seven inning doubleheader the next day.
Local players on the team this year include: Tyler Joyner (WSN) and Caden Lodge (TRM).
Here is the complete schedule for 2015 for the Warhawks:
• Sat., Jan. 31, Central Alabama, DH, Home, noon
• Tues., Feb. 3, Faulkner University, DH, Montgomery, noon
• Sat., Feb. 7, Jones County, DH, Ellisville, Miss., 2 p.m.
• Tues., Feb. 10, Pensacola State, 9 innings, Home, 2 p.m.
• Wed., Feb. 18, Pensacola State, 9 innings, Pensacola, Fla., 3 p.m.
• Fri., Feb. 20, East Central, 9 and 7 innings DH, Decatur, Miss., noon
• Mon., Feb. 23, Spring Hill, DH, Home, noon
• Tues., Feb. 24, Northwest Florida State, 9 innings, Niceville, Fla., 3 p.m.
• Tues., March 3, Lawson State, 9 innings, Home, 1:30 p.m.
• Thurs., March 5, Faulkner State, 9 and 7 innings DH, Bay Minette, noon
• Sat., March 7, Faulkner State, 9 and 7 innings DH, Home, noon
• Tues., March 10, Faulkner University, DH, Home, noon
• Thurs., March 12, Bishop State, 9 and 7 innings DH, Home, noon
• Sat., March 14, Bishop State, 9 and 7 innings DH, Mobile, noon
• Thurs., March 19, Enterprise State, 9 and 7 innings DH, Enterprise, noon
• Sat., March 21, Enterprise State, 9 and 7 innings DH, Home, noon
• Thurs., March 26, Alabama Southern, 9 and 7 innings DH, Home, noon
• Sat., March 28, Alabama Southern, 9 and 7 innings DH, Monroeville, noon
• Thurs., April 2, Chattahoochee Valley, 9 and 7 innings DH, Phenix City, TBA
• Sat., April 4, Chattahoochee Valley, 9 and 7 innings DH, Home, noon
• Mon., April 6, Spring Hill College, DH, Mobile, 3 p.m.
• Thurs., April 9, Wallace-Dothan, 9 and 7 innings DH, Home, noon
• Sat., April 11, Wallace-Dothan, 9 and 7 innings DH, Dothan, noon
• Tues., April 14, Huntindgon, DH, Montgomery, 4 p.m.
• Thurs., April 16, LBW, 9 and 7 innings DH, Andalusia, noon
• Sat., April 18, LBW, 9 and 7 innings DH, Brewton, noon
• Tues., April 21, Lawson State, 9 innings, Birmingham, 2 p.m.
• Thurs., April 23, Delgado, DH, Home, 1 p.m.
• Tues., April 28, Shelton State, 9 innings, Montgomery, TBA
• Thurs., April 30, Wallace-Selma, 9 and 7 innings DH, Brewton, noon
• Sat., May 2, Wallace-Selma, 9 and 7 innings DH, Home, noon
• Fri., May 8-13, ACCC State Tourney, Ozark, TBA

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam