• 61°

JDCC softball to begin 2015 season Tuesday

On Tuesday, the 2015 Jefferson Davis Community College Lady Warhawk softball team will begin their season.
The Lady Warhawks will start their season on Tues., Feb. 3, at home against Central Alabama. The game will be a doubleheader and will begin at 1 and 3 p.m.
The Lady Warhawks’ schedule shows a total of 27 games and two different tournaments. Including doubleheaders, JDCC’s schedule shows 52 total games.
Of the 27 games, 17 will be at home and 10 on the road. The two tournaments include the Sun Chief Classic in Gulf Shores and the ACCC Conference Crossover in Montgomery.
Local players on the team this season include: Kena Ellison (WSN), Moriah Brundidge (TRM), Kaitlin Hadaway (WSN), and Audrey Hamric (TRM). Other locals include Brittany Gillman (Jay), Sierra Salter (Evergreen), Ariane McClammey (Flomaton), Paige Lambeth (Flomaton), Tristen Boothe (Atmore), Chelsey Ramer (Atmore), Tabitha Turner (Flomaton) and Kortlan Peebles (Atmore).
JDCC’s conference sees seven teams in it. The Lady Warhawks will play their opponents four times during the season —- two times at home and two times on the road.
JDCC will play 14 conference games, all doubleheaders, for a total of 28 games.
JDCC’s conference opponents include: Bishop State, Enterprise State, Faulkner State, Chatt. Valley, Wallace-Dothan, Alabama Southern, and LBW.
JDCC is coached by head coach Misti Nims. Nims is assisted by Ed Johnson.
Here is the complete 2015 schedule for the Lady Warhawks softball team:
• Tues., Feb. 3, Central Alabama, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Wed., Feb. 11, Pensacola State, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Fri., Feb. 13, Huntingdon College, Montgomery, 4/6 p.m.
• Sun., Feb. 15, Jones County, Home, noon/2 p.m.
• Fri., Feb. 20, Sun Chief Classic, Gulf Shores, TBA
• Sat., Feb. 21, Sun Chief Classic, Gulf Shores, TBA
• Fri., Feb. 27, JDCC Round Robin, Home
– JDCC vs. Marion Military, 11 a.m.
– Marion Military vs. Baton Rouge, 1 p.m.
– JDCC vs. Baton Rouge, 3 p.m.
• Sat., Feb. 28, Baton Rouge, Home, 11 a.m./1 p.m.
• Tues., March 3, Central Alabama, Away, 2/4 p.m.
• Wed., March 4, Ohio-Chillicothe, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Mon., March 9, Carl Sandburg, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Wed., March 11, Three Rivers, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Sat., March 14, Bishop State, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Sun., March 15, Black Hawk, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Tues., March 17, Enterprise State, Enterprise, 1/3 p.m.
• Fri., March 20, ACCC Conference Crossover, Away, TBA
• Sat., March 21, ACCC Conference Crossover, Away, TBA
• Tues., March 24, Faulkner State, Bay Minette, 2/4 p.m.
• Thurs., March 26, Chatt. Valley, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Sat., March 28, Wallace-Dothan, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Tues., March 31, Alabama Southern, Monroeville, 2/4 p.m.
• Thurs., April 2, LBW, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Sat., April 4, Bishop State, Mobile, 1/3 p.m.
• Tues., April 7, Enterprise State, Home, 1/3 p.m.
• Thurs., April 9, Faulkner State, Home, 2/4 p.m.
• Sun., April 12, Chatt. Valley, Phenix City, 1/3 p.m.
• Tues., April 14, Wallace-Dothan, Away, 1/3 p.m.
• Thurs., April 16, Alabama Southern, Home, 2/4 p.m.
• Sat., April 18, LBW, Andalusia, 1/3 p.m.
• Tues., April 21, Pensacola State, Pensacola, 2/4 p.m.
• Fri. – Sun., April 24-26, Region Tournament, Alabaster, TBA

About Adam Robinson

My name is Adam Robinson and I have been the Sports Editor of the Brewton Standard since September 2007. I cover all the local sports in the Brewton area. I am a 2007 graduate of Troy University with a degree in Print Journalism with a contract in Sports Information. I married Shari Lynn in June of 2007 and we welcomed our first child, Hatlee, in April of 2010.

email author More by Adam