County gets new chairman

Published 5:59 am Wednesday, December 16, 2015

There will soon be a new head of the Escambia County Commission.

Monday, commissioners voted to install District No. 2 Commission Raymond Wiggins as its new chairman.

Appointments are made on an annual basis, and Wiggins will fill the role currently held by District No. 1 Commissioner David Stokes. Stokes has served as chairman for the last nine years. Wiggins will be installed at the Jan. 19 commission meeting.

Email newsletter signup

Once elected, commissioners are paid an annual $25, 489 salary. The chairman seat earns an additional $21,782.

District No. 3 Commissioner Larry White was voted to vice chairman.

In other business, the commission:

• approved a new uniform bid for the sheriff’s office;

• reappointed Carolyn Fountain to the county’s library system board and appointed John Stallworth to fill the unexpired term of Jason Dean on the county’s E911 board;

• set at 25 miles-per-hour speed limit on Autumnwood Drive; and,

• voted to serve as the host agency for a state Transportation Alternative Program grant for the Poarch Band of Creek Indians. The Tribe is applying for some $400,000 to install a second round of sidewalks on its property. If approved, the grant requires a 20 percent match.