Election qualifying begins

Published 5:55 am Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Candidates have until July 19 to file paperwork

Qualifying for the municipal election cycle in Brewton and East Brewton began Tuesday.

In each municipality, mayor’s office and city council seats are open.

Email newsletter signup

In Brewton, Mayor Yank Lovelace has announced his intent to seek reelection, while local businessman Frank Nalty has declared his intent to run for the seat as well.

Three of the five city councilmen have announced their desire to run for reelection – Councilman Pat Poole, District No. 1; Councilman Fred Barton, District No. 4, and Joe Watson, District No. 5.

Retired Brewton Middle School principal Carrie Brown is running against Poole in District No. 1.

District No. 2 Councilman Frank Cotten is not running for reelection; however, two candidates have announced their intent to run – retired Brewton Fire Chief Lawrence Weaver and local businessman Dale Yoder.

District No. 3 Councilman Cary Barton, who was appointed to the seat following the death of longtime councilman Bill Littles, is not running for reelection.

“I was only filling a need,” Barton said. “It’s time to let someone else have a go.”

Two others have announced their intent to seek the seat – former city clerk John Angel and retired Brewton Police officer Feast Broughton.

In District No. 4, Patrick Hendrieth has announced his intent to run against the incumbent Joe Watson.

In District No. 5, no one has announced their intent to run against Barton, the incumbent.

In East Brewton, Mayor Terry Clark has announced he is seeking a sixth term as mayor and all incumbent city council members are also seeking reelection.

To seek the office of mayor or city council, a candidate must:

• Be 18

• Have been a resident of the city and state for 90 days prior to election.

• Be a U.S. Citizen.

• Be registered to vote.

Qualifying ends at 5 p.m. on Tues., July 19.