Election qualifying ends

Published 5:00 am Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Qualifying for the Aug. 23 municipal election cycle in Brewton and East Brewton closed Tuesday.

In each municipality, mayor’s office and city council seats are open. Below is a listing of those who will be on the upcoming ballot:

In Brewton:

Email newsletter signup

• Mayor: Yank Lovelace (I) and Frank Nalty;

• District No. 1: Pat Poole (I) and Carrie Brown;

• District No. 2: Lawrence Weaver, Dale Yoder and Cleo McClain Jr.;

• District No. 3: Feast Broughton and John Angel;

• District No. 4: Joseph Nathan Watson (I) and Patrick Hendrieth; and,

• District No. 5: Fred Barton (I) and Shawn Lundy.

In East Brewton, there was no opposition for council seats; however, in the mayor’s race, the incumbent Terry Clark will face Michael Cosey.