Teen drivers not abiding by law
Published 4:59 am Wednesday, March 1, 2017
State Troopers say they continue to see teenagers violate the terms of the Alabama Graduated Driver License Law.
State Trooper spokesperson Kevin Cook said that the primary violations are too many passengers in the car and using their cell phones when driving.
The graduated driver’s license is for 15, 16 and 17-year-olds in Alabama and are categorized in stage No. 1, which is the learner’s permit, stage No. 2, restricted license and stage No. 3, which is unrestricted or regular license.
There are restrictions.
Fifteen-year-old with a valid learner license are authorized to drive while accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or a person who is 21 years of age or older who is a licensed driver and occupies the front seat.
A 16-year-old must have parental or legal guardian’s permission to receive a license and to drive without supervision to get the restricted license.
“Parents have to sign an affidavit saying that their child has 50 hours of supervision behind the wheel,” he said.
Cook said it’s pertinent for parents to understand that teen drivers need more experience on the road than just driver’s education.
“There is no way that the driver’s ed teacher can give them 50 hours of driving time,” he said. “I’ve hard a lot of people say they can’t ride with their child. They are doing their child an injustice. I would really push parents to take the time to give their children that experience.”
Once a teenager turns 17 and a stage No. 2 license for at least six month before, they may receive the regular driver’s license.
Cook said then teenagers cannot drive with more than one non-family member in the car at a time.
“The majority of high schoolers pick up their friends,” he said. “And that’s not legal while you have a stage No. 1 or stage No. 2 license.”
The reason – high school students can get distracted easily specifically with their inexperience behind the wheel, Cook said.
Teenagers can carry as many family members at the vehicle has proper seat belts.
Additionally, Cook said the majority know that texting while driving in Alabama is illegal, but for those with a stage No. 1 or stage No. 2 license, it’s also illegal to use a cellphone to make or receive a phone call.
Additionally those students may not operate their vehicle between midnight and 6 a.m., unless they are accompanied by a parent or legal guardian unless:
• Accompanied by a licensee 21 years of age or older with parental consent;
• Going to or from their regular workplace, school-sponsored event or religious-sponsored event;
• Driving due to a medical, fire or law enforcement-related emergency.
Violations of the restrictions will result in an extended period of restrictive driving for six months or until age 18.
Cook said parents and teens should be aware of it that the driver’s license point system is different for those on the graduated license.
They are only allowed four points in a year period.
Cook said that means that if a teen is caught doing more than 26 mph over the speed limit they would lose their license for 60 days.