Williamson named to North-South All-Star roster

Published 2:17 pm Thursday, May 4, 2017

T.R. Miller junior Drew Williamson was recently selected to compete in the Alabama High School Athletic Association North-South All-Star double-header games in July. The North-South All-Star double-header features rising seniors. Williamson is one of 18 players to make the South region roster.

Williamson had a batting average of .616 with eight home runs this season.

In 34 games this past season Williamson led the Class 3A top-ranked Tigers in nine offensive categories; including batting average (.616), runs scored (63), triples (2), home runs (8), on-base percentage (.764), and slugging (1.123).

In 127 plate appearances he had 47 walks, and only struck out four times.

Email newsletter signup

The 6 foot 3 inch, 210-pound versatile Williamson played predominantly in the outfield this past season, but was featured as a top-tier first baseman and pitcher for the Tigers.

In August 2016 he verbally committed to play for the University of Alabama.

The North-South All-Star double-header games will be played on July 18, at Riverwalk Stadium in Montgomery. First pitch for game one is scheduled for 4 p.m.

The complete rosters are:


  • Jacob Smith, Calera, LHP
  • Hogan Isbell, Colbert County, P/OF
  • Will Morrison, Cullman, RHP
  • David Rutledge, Etowah, 1B
  • Alex Fowler, Falkville, IF
  • Garrett Wade, Hartselle, LHP
  • Carson Skipper, Hewitt-Trussville, LHP
  • T.J. Reeves, Hueytown, OF
  • Christian MacLeod, Huntsville, LHP
  • Colton Clark, Jacksonville, IF/RHP
  • Clay Stearns, Mountain Brook, C
  • Gene Hurst, Oak Mountain, RHP
  • Brody Moore, Oneonta, IF
  • Brody Syer , Oxford, OF/LHP
  • Will Pierce, Pelham, C
  • Josh Hall, Randolph,OF
  • Garrett Bodine, Sparkman,OF/IF
  • Connor Fordham, Wadley, C

Coaches are Brandon Moore (Oneonta), David Deerman (Jacksonville) and Keith Lucky (St. James).


  • Ethan Wilson, Andalusia, OF
  • Drew Jennings, Auburn, P
  • Slade Gorman, Central-Phenix City, C
  • Chance Warren, Enterprise, SS
  • Gabe Shepard, Faith Academy, P
  • Cory Peterson, Goshen, OF
  • Jon Horton, Hale County, 1B
  • Brayden Baggett, Marbury, OF
  • Eric Toth, McGill-Toolen, 1B
  • Drew Williamson, T.R. Miller, OF       
  • Trent Avery, Mobile Christian, 2B
  • Joey Wozniak, Northview, P
  • Tyler Robertson, St. James, OF
  • Jeremiah Jackson, St. Luke’s, SS
  • Herndon Akridge, St. Paul’s, P
  • Jonah Smith, Sweet Water, SS/P
  • Casey Baynes, Tallassee, 3B
  • Max Champion, Wetumpka, C

Coaches are Chad Smith (LAMP), Tyler Dent (Andalusia), and Ken Whittle (Trinity Presbyterian).