D.W. McMillan awards scholarships to seniors

Published 6:00 pm Tuesday, June 20, 2017

D.W. McMillan Memorial Hospital recently awarded scholarships to 11 graduating seniors from T. R. Miller High School, W.S. Neal High School and Flomaton High School.

“Through the scholarship process we are able to reward the effort of the students, as well as, provide assistance to those destined for fields of study that match our healthcare system,” Chris Griffin, administrator at D.W. McMillan said. “We wish all the 2017 seniors the best of luck for the future.”

Griffin said that because the scholarship applicants this year were all exceptional, the hospital decided to award a $500 scholarship to each applicant for a total of $5,500. The senior classes of 2018 will have an opportunity to apply for these scholarships next spring.

Scholarship winners were Payton Baxter, Shelby Evans, Harrison Hughes and Allie Nelson from T.R. Miller High School; Kyndra Collins, Lauren Joyner, Brooke Pugh and Tyra Stallworth from W.S. Neal High School; and Allison Hall, Autumn Lee and Kaylee Padgett from Flomaton High School.

Their chosen fields of study range from physical therapy to nursing to pharmacy. Some are attending Jefferson Davis Community College, while others will attend the University of South Alabama, Auburn University, Troy University, University of Alabama, and UAB.