TRM celebrates spring sports banquet at FBC

Published 12:54 pm Tuesday, May 29, 2018

On Tues., May 15, T.R. Miller athletics celebrated their spring sports program. All players were recognized, as well as, supporters of each program.

Special awards were given in each sport. Receiving awards were: Mary Madison Brown, volleyball, (leadership award), Mallori Floyd (defensive award), Steely Ruzic (most valuable player) and Anna Grace White received the (Tiger award).

Kennedy Harp, (tennis, most valuable player) and Clay Lang (tennis, boys most valuable player). For softball, Brown received the (Tiger award), Floyd and Ruzic, (defensive co-most valuable players). Myra Reiss (offensive valuable player), and captains Brown and Ruzic.

Email newsletter signup

Olivia Blackmon (girls cross country most valuable runner), Jordan Thompson (most improved runner), Celeste Thomas received the (Alan Ash award). For the boys, Tailand Mitchell (most valuable runner), Sam Kelly (most improved runner), Rider Jernigan received the (Alan Ash award) and Tanner McDaniel won the captain award.

Baseball, Drew Williamson (most valuable player, captain, and batting title). Russell Smith (scholar athlete), Trentez Johnson (received the Brock Joyner award) and Blake Jernigan (pitching award).

Track: Valerie Samuel (most valuable player), Blackmon (most valuable runner), Ruzic and Kyla Bell (most valuable field events). For the boys, Justus Bailey (most valuable player), Mitchell and Jernigan (most valuable runners), Jalen Walker (most valuable field events), Brooks Feeley and Jordan Thompson (rookies of the year).

Boys basketball: Cameron Knapp (defensive most valuable player), Rashawn Autrey (rookie of the year), Joshua Jolly (captain and most valuable player), Shiv Patel (captain and academic player of the year).

Golf: Todd Watson and Donovan Weaver (captains and Turner Smith most improved).

Girls basketball: Samuel, captain; Ruzic, rebounder award; Bell most valuable player; Janazsia Nettles, most improve; and Raivon Ewing, defensive player of the year.