Miller opens season strong

Published 6:52 pm Tuesday, February 26, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Tigers of TRM opened the season with a bang, by clinching the 2019 Escambia County Tournament crown. All-Tournament members included Jon Jeter, Hunter Johnson, Tyler Merritt, and Wyn Brittain. Matt Smith was named MVP.

TRM vs Flomaton  

Matt Smith had 4 hits and 5 RBIs. Wyn Brittain hit into a fielder’s choice, scoring one run. Smith, Logan Bush, and Jon Jeter all advanced runners across home plate in the fourth inning. On the mound for the Tigers was Tyler Merritt. Merritt went five innings, giving up one run on three hits and striking out nine. TRM had a total of eight hits. The Tigers did not commit one error in the field. TRM took the win with a final score of 13-1.

Email newsletter signup

TRM vs Escambia County

TRM opened the first inning with scoring four runs on four hits. In the third inning, the Tigers scored ten runs with the help of Jon Jeter, Matt Smith, and Hunter Johnson, a hard hit ball put in play by Kyle Blevins, and Tyler Merritt, and a walk by Landon Sims. The winning pitcher for the Tigers of TRM, was Logan Rowell. Rowell went five innings, only giving up one run on one hit and striking out ten. The Tigers collected five stolen bases and thirteen hits in the game. TRM captured the victory with a final of 16-1.

TRM vs WSN  

The Tigers got heated in the first inning, when Logan Rowell scored on a ball in the dirt. Wyn Brittain, Logan Bush, and Jon Jeter each gathered hits for the Tigers. Overall, TRM tallied ten hits.Two Miller pitchers combined to throw at shutout. Matt Smith allowed three hits, zero walks, and zero runs while striking out six over six innings. The relief  pitcher, Blake Jernigan, struck out the side and collected the final three outs to finish off the game. Tigers earned the shutout win with a final of 4-0.