BCS ends in college football

When the final second ticked off the Rose Bowl’s scoreboard pronouncing the Florida State Seminoles as the 2013 college football national champions with a 34-31 win over the Auburn Tigers, the BCS ended.
Next year, college football moves into a new direction with a four-team playoff. While it is not like other sports with some kind of playoff or tournament-style format to decide a champion, it is a step in the right direction.
Next year, the top-four teams in college football will be decided upon with a committee—kind of like the seeding committee for the Final Four/March Madness tournament college basketball uses.
Once the four teams are decided, the No. 1-seeded team will play the No. 4-seeded team while No. 2 meets No. 3. From there, the winners of those two games will play for the national championship.
The two semifinals will be played at the Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl on January 1, 2015. The championship game will be played will be played later date on January 12 at the Dallas Cowboys Stadium in North Texas.
Here is a link that will explain more about the upcoming playoff:
While the BCS has now ended, I decided to take a look at how things went in that format.
The BCS began in 1998 when Tennessee took down Florida State for the championship. Florida State, the most recent and last winner of the game, actually went to the first three BCS title games, but only won once. The Seminoles won in 1999.
Overall, in the 16 games of the BCS, there were 10 undefeated teams. Five champions won with one loss while one team won with two losses. The two-loss team was LSU in 2007.
Another thing I looked at was that of the 16 winners, nine were from the SEC. The SEC won the national championship in 1998, 2004, and from 2006-2012.
Of the nine SEC teams to win, four were from the state of Alabama as the Crimson Tide won in 2009, 2011, and 2012 while Auburn won in 2010.
For a more in depth look at the BCS and the national championship games, here is a link with some good information: