City school board sets groundwork for scholarship

Published 2:43 am Wednesday, October 23, 2002

By By ROBERT BLANKENSHIP – Managing Editor
The Brewton Board of Education has laid the groundwork for implementing the T.R. Miller Scholarship Fund which will be designed to help students at the school with money for college.
According to Superintendent Lynn Smith, establishment of the fund is still in the early stages and there is still a lot of work to do.
The board approved the selection of six people to serve on a committee that will be charged with the task of designing guidelines such as how money will be accepted and dispersed. Those selected to serve on the committee are: Keith Miller, Donnie Rotch, Charles Rushing, Sharon Peacock, Elaine Cato and Ola Bell.
Along with the establishment of the committee, the board also approved the Greater Brewton Foundation as the host of the scholarship fund account. Smith said that representatives of that organization agreed to handle the scholarship.
While the Greater Brewton Foundation will take money in, Smith said it will not be involved in the process of awarding the scholarships.
One of the goals of the new committee is to determine how, and to whom, the money will be dispersed.
Other items discussed by the school board included:

Email newsletter signup