Drug Task Force arrest three for possession

Published 8:35 am Wednesday, February 5, 2003

By By ROBERT BLANKENSHIP – Managing Editor
Three people were arrested on drug-related charges last week after law enforcement officials with the 21st Judicial Drug Task Force served a search warrant at a Brewton home.
Two of the suspects arrested were charged with possession of marijuana while the third was also charged on distribution of a controlled substance.
Larry Donell Jones, 49, of 1011 Sowell Rd., Brewton, was arrested and charged with two counts of possession of a controlled substance; possession of marijuana, first degree; possession of drug paraphernalia and distribution of a controlled substance. Jones was arrested as a result of a search warrant at his home on Wednesday, Jan. 29.
Also arrested as a result of the search was Marlon Sherrard Haynes, 26, of Athens, Ga., who was charged with first degree possession of marijuana, and Donna Stallworth, 32, of Brewton, who was charged with possession of a controlled substance; possession of marijuana, first degree and possession of drug paraphernalia.
The warrant was served by members of the task force as well as officers from the Brewton Police Department and deputies with the Escambia County Sheriff's Office.
The search warrant for Jones's Sowell Road residence was obtained after a month-long investigation according to officials with the ECSO. Officials said the agents recovered prescription medications, marijuana, drug paraphernalia as well as cash and firearms from inside the house.
The 21st Judicial Drug Task Force is comprised of the following law enforcement agencies: Escambia County Sheriff's Office, Atmore Police Department, East Brewton Police Department, Brewton Police Department, Flomaton Police Department and the Escambia County District Attorney's Office.
The task force receives 75 percent of its funding from a grant provided by the Bureau of Justice Affairs Division of the U.S. Department of Justice and is administered by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community of Affairs. The remainder of funding is provided by the ECSO, APD, BPD, and the Escambia County D.A.'s office.

Email newsletter signup