Clark in run-off with Fountain

Published 11:40 pm Thursday, August 26, 2004

By By ANNA M. LEE Managing Editor
East Brewton Mayor Terry Clark captured a run-off seat against opponent Charles Fountain in a Sept. 14 rematch in municipal elections held Tuesday.
Clark received 344 of the 695 votes cast in East Brewton's election, while Fountain received 214 votes, and third candidate Bernie Raines received 136 votes.
Three of East Brewton's five city council positions also will be decided by a run-off. Place 1 incumbent Huey Johnson with 312 votes will face Bob Arrant, who received 249 votes. Terri Minchew, the third candidate for Place 1 received 128 votes.
Incumbent Kenny Hultz (253) and Priscilla West (275) will meet in a run-off for Place 2. Geoffrey McGraw received 154 votes in that race.
Place 5 incumbent Bettie Jordan (257) will face Wayne Howard (304) in a run-off. Candidate for Place 5 Michael Cosey received 123 votes.
Clear winners in East Brewton were Place 3 incumbent Byron Palmer who beat Debi Steadman, 514 votes to 163; and Place 4 candidaate Henry Hooks, who beat incumbent Dewayne King, 356 to 320.
Flomaton elected Dewey Bondurant Jr. mayor over opponents Joe Brantley and incumbent Kay Wagner. Bondurant received 293 votes, while Brantley received 171 and Wagner received 14. Also, for Flomaton's city council District 1 place, John Sansom beat incumbent Lula Graves.
In the town of Pollard's elections, William Baldwin beat out incumbent Claude Moton for Place 1, and Valeria Osby beat incumbent Marion Collins for Place 2.
Atmore reelected Mayor Howard Shell by a wide margin over Anthony "Bam-Bam" Bishop Williams, Bill Stuckey and Greg Russell. In Atmore's city council races for Districts 1, 3 and 4, incumbents Webb Nall, Louie Turner III and John Garrard were reelected to their respective seats. Nall defeated Jerry Gehman, Turner defeated Sam Holley and Garrard defeated Randal Shuttlesworth.
Run-offs for municipal elections will be Tuesday, Sept. 14. Winners of yesterday's races and the upcoming run-offs will take office in October.