Looking Back… 50 years

Published 2:22 pm Wednesday, January 19, 2005

By Staff
Officers and directors of the Citizens-Farmers and Merchants Bank in Brewton re-elected at the annual meeting of stockholders this week included Ed Leigh McMillan, chairman of the board; J.W. Adkisson, president; John R. Downing, executive vice-president; R.J. Murphy, vice president; David B. Miller, vice president; Morris M. Stone, cashier; B.C. Martin Jr., Mrs. W.S. West and Roy Leo Farish, assistant cashiers. Board memebers include E. L. McMcMillan, J.W. Adkisson, W.E. brooks, A.P. Downing, John David Finlay, Broox G. Garett, J.P. Hayes, R.M. Jernigan, John R. Miller Jr., G.W. L. Simth and W.F. Wilson.
Charles Land, B.L. Garrett and Floyd Steele, members of the Junior Chamber of Commerce, are shown as they build and paint additional shelves in the children's room of the public library.
Deputies who will serve under Sheriff Otis E. Emmons were appointed Monday by the Board of Revenue. Chief Deputy will be Joe Jackson of McCall, who will receive $250 a month. New jailers are R.A. Emmons and Dennis H. White, who will receive $185 and $200 per month, respectively; and Alkton E. Keller, chief deputy in Atmore, who will receive $300 per month.
Bob Moss, manager of the local White's Furniture Co., is shown with S.R. Rigby, who won a new Chevrolet in a contest the store conducted for Christmas.

Email newsletter signup