Bruce Bits

Published 1:08 am Monday, November 21, 2005

By Staff
Both T.R. Miller and W.S. Neal High School will be moving up in classification for the next two years.
T.R. Miller has spent the last four years in Class 3A and W.S. Neal has spent the last six years in that class, but both will move up to Class 4A beginning next year. Both schools had competed in Class 4A prior to their most recent drop down.
W.S. Neal is listed as the 54th biggest school out of 65 members in Class 4A with 296 student counters. T.R. Miller is the 55th biggest with 293 counters. Student counters are a school's seniors, juniors, sophomores and carryover freshmen.
Boaz is the biggest member of Class 4A with 393 student counters, while Geneva is the smallest at 285. Geneva was also the smallest member of 4A when the Alabama High School Athletic Association reclassified two years ago.
Although both schools are moving up in classification, they will continue to be football region roommates. Both will become members of the revised Class 4A Region 1 that also includes Andalusia, Escambia County, Hillcrest-Evergreen, Jackson, Monroe County and Thomasville.
Region 2 consists of Alabama Christian, Ashford, Bullock County, Daleville, Geneva, Opp, Saint James and Trinity Presbyterian.
Region 3 contains Beauregard, Central-Coosa, Childersburg, Cleburne County, Dadeville, Elmore County, Handley and Holtville.
Region 4 members are Fayette County, Greene County, Holt, Jemsion, Livingston, Northside, Oak Grove and Southside-Selma.
Region 5 teams are Corner, Dora, Fairview, Locust Fork, Midfield, Oneonta, St. Clair County and Tarrant.
Region 6 has Alexandria, Ashville, Boaz, Cherokee County, Douglas, Guntersville, Jacksonville and Saks.
Region 7 consists of Ardmore, Columbia, East Lawrence, East Limestone, Madison County, North Jackson, Priceville and DAR.
Region 8 includes Brooks, Florence-Central, Deshler, Haleyville, Hamilton, Lawrence County, Rogers and Wilson.
There are two notable football programs which are not a part of the revised Class 4A. Both UMS-Wright and Demopolis have moved up to Class 5A. They are currently ranked number one and two in the state in 4A respectively and are perennial state title contenders.
Coincidently, T.R. Miller's playoff foe from Friday night, Oneonta, is also moving up to 4A next year. So is Holtville, a school the Tigers beat in the opening round.
T.R. Miller and W.S. Neal have been replaced in their former Class 3A Region 1 home by Elba and Calhoun.
The rest of the region (Pike County, Dale County, Straughn, Slocomb, Abbeville and Headland) remains unchanged.
Area realignment has also been announced for boys and girls basketball.
Both T.R. Miller and W.S. Neal have been assigned to Class 4A Region 2, which also includes Andalusia and Hillcrest-Evergreen.
Area alignments for other sports will be announced at a later date.

Email newsletter signup