Bruce Bits

Published 9:35 pm Wednesday, May 10, 2006

By By BRUCE HIXON – Sports Editor
The Lions Club East-West All-Star Series will get under way Saturday with a pair of games at Jefferson Davis Community College. Play starts at noon. Teams from the Brewton, Mobile, Jackson and Enterprise areas will compete.
Sixteen players from the opening round of competition will be selected to continue in the series when play resumes May 20 with a tripleheader. Those games will also be played at JDCC, with the first contest set for 10 a.m. The top players from the second round of competition will advance to the state championship round.
The Lions All-Star series features the top high school players, usually seniors, although some juniors are allowed. No admission is charged, but donations will be accepted. Collected funds will go to the Alabama Eyesight Foundation.
Among the tentative area players who are scheduled to compete Saturday for the Brewton area team include T.R. Miller infielder/pitcher Baxley Raines, pitcher/first baseman Mackie Jackson, third baseman Becker Denton and outfielder Tanner Shehan, along with W.S. Neal infielder Spencer Williamson and shortstop/pitcher Whitney Qualls. W.S. Neal outfielder Eric Howellwas also picked for the team, but is not expected to be able to compete. Junior outfielder Justin Smith is expected to take Howell's place.
Four other players from Escambia County schools are also slated to play. That lists include pitcher/catcher Dannon Lisenby and centerfielder Clay Simpson of Flomaton and second baseman Chris Frost and outfielder Alvin Simmons of Escambia County.
Other players who are scheduled to play include Cody Bishop, Ryan Harrison, Cory Luckie and Chris Knight of Fairhope, Scott Freeman, Joe Piehfara, Alex Hammrick and Alan Thompson of Gulf Shores, Brandon White, Wesley Ride and Jarrod Mitcheson of Baldwin County, Tyler Walker and Cody Ingram of Red Level, and Dane Swearingen and Buck Buckelew of Daphne.
More players include Brent Gillen, Dexter Francis, Nathan Delagarza and Dustin Schell of Foley, Robbie Evans, Tyler Rasberry and Dusty McDonnell of Florala, and Robertsdale's Lance Baxter, Zack Comstock, Byron Williamson, Robbie Boswell, Dakota Bodrie, Chris Davis, Michael Prestwood and Matt Morgan.

Email newsletter signup