Little League season kicks off Saturday

Published 11:53 am Monday, March 26, 2007

Little League season for Brewton and East Brewton will get underway Saturday with a full day of activities.
Both leagues usually start their respective seasons the first weekend in April. This year's season was pushed up one week due to Easter activities next weekend.
The Little League season concludes with the age 9-10 and age 11-12 City Tournaments, which will be held May 21-25.
Teams in Brewton's age 9-10 division this year include the Braves, Cardinals, Mariners and Royals.
Teams in Brewton's age 11-12 division include the Astros, Tigers and Rangers. Last year the age 11-12 division had five teams, but dropped to three teams this year due to a decrease in numbers.
The four teams in the age 9-10 division will all play one game Saturday. Each of the four teams will compete in the opening session at 2 p.m. when the Cardinals face the Braves and the Mariners take on the Royals.
The three teams in the age 11-12 division will all play two games on opening day. The Astros take on the Rangers at 4 p.m. It will be the first of back-to-back games for the Rangers, who return to the field at 5:30 p.m. for a game against the Tigers. The Tigers will also play back-to-back contests when they face the Astros at 7 p.m.
East Brewton will field three teams in both of its age divisions.
Teams in the age 9-10 division include the A's, the Cubs and the Braves. Teams in the age 11-12 division include the Dodgers, Mets and Yankees.
Each of East Brewton's Little League teams will be in action on Opening Day. Play starts at 9 a.m. when the Dodgers face the Yankees followed by a game between the Cubs and Braves at 10:15 a.m. The morning session will conclude when the Mets and Yankees square off at 11:30 a.m.
Afternoon play starts at 1:15 p.m. when the Cubs and A's battle. The Yankees and Dodgers will play at 2:30 p.m. Play concludes at 3:45 p.m. when the A's meet the Braves.
Teams in the age 7-8 and t-ball division will also be in action on East Brewton's Opening Day. Those games will take place at the adjacent Babe Ruth field.
Teams in the age 7-8 division include the Royals, Indians and Giants.
Teams in the T-ball division include the Orioles, Cardinals and Blue Jays.
Play starts at 9 a.m. when the Royals play the Indians followed by the Orioles against the Cardinals at 10 a.m. The morning session will conclude with a game between the Indians and Giants at 11 a.m.
The afternoon session will start at 1 p.m. when the Blue Jays and Cardinals hook up. The Giants will play the Royals in the game to follow at 2 p.m. Play concludes when the Blue Jays and Orioles meet at 3 p.m.