City OKs bonus

Published 10:00 am Wednesday, September 12, 2007

By By Kerry Whipple Bean – publisher
Brewton City Council members decided Tuesday on a split vote to grant a one-time allowance to retired state employees.
Councilmen Henry Uptagraaft, William McGhee and Frank Cotten voted yes, while Ann Marie Sasser and Cary Barton voted against the so-called longevity bonus.
Sasser had argued that city finances were too tight to include the money, which was authorized under legislation signed by Gov. Bob Riley in June.
Angel estimated the bonus would cost the city about $10,000.
The Alabama State Retired Employees Association has pushed local governments to adopt the one-time bonus. Escambia County Commissioners have chosen not to do so, saying the county does not have the money.
Also Tuesday, the Brewton City Council agreed to purchase the old Shell station on U.S. 31, near Burnt Corn Creek Park, for $5,568.79, pending clearance that the city will have no environmental responsibility for the gas station property.
Mayor Ted Jennings said the city has no specific plans for the property yet, other than to clean it up.